Apr 12, 2022

Reading and discussion: »Das Meer der Libellen« (The Dragonfly Sea) by Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor

Moderated by Elke aus dem Moore

Date: Apr 12, 2022, 19:30 Uhr

Duration: Apr 12, 2022

Location: Literaturhaus Stuttgart

Info:

Admission: 12 / 10 / 6 Euro
Livestream ticket: 6 Euro

Advanced booking online, all tickets plus 2.- ReserviX-Servicegebühr/booking.

Tickets are also available at all ReserviX-Advance booking points and at the bookstore & Büchergilde at Literaturhaus (Mon-Fri 12 to 20 pm/ Sat 10 am to 15 pm)

Photo: Maurice Weiss / OSTKREUZ

Author and former Solitude juror Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor will read from her novel The Dragonfly Sea (German: Das Meer der Libellen, published by DuMont Verlag, 2019), which tells the story of a young woman struggling to find her place in the world, at the Literaturhaus Stuttgart. The event will be moderated by Elke aus dem Moore.

»Dragonflies seem so ephemeral, but somehow they stay alive. The migratory history of dragonflies constitutes the longest migration that has ever taken place in the world. To write, I had to leave behind the place that inspired my stories.« Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor

On the island of Pate, off the coast of Kenya, lives the headstrong Ayaana with her mother Munira. When a sailor named Muhidin enters her life, Ayaana finds something she has always longed for: A father. Yet as Ayaana grows up, she has to cope with drastic events that not only change her, but also life on Pate profoundly: Strangers with dubious pasts materialize, religious extremists seek refuge on the island, China puts out feelers to Africa and nature exacts its toll with a tsunami. So Ayaana decides to seek her fortune further afield and move to China to study.

Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor was born in Kenya in 1968, lives in Nairobi and is one of the leading voices in the African literary sphere. She was a juror for the Solitude fellowships 2020/2021 in the textual sphere of practice. In 2019, she was one of the three curators of the international literature festival »MEMBRANE. African Literatures and Ideas«.

An event hosted by the Literaturhaus Stuttgart in cooperation with Akademie Schloss Solitude and the Institut français.

participated in

Apr 12, 2022

Lesung und Gespräch: »Das Meer der Libellen« von Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor

Moderation: Elke aus dem Moore

Datum: Apr 12, 2022, 19:30 Uhr

Dauer: Apr 12, 2022

Ort: Literaturhaus Stuttgart

Info:

Eintritt: 12 / 10 / 6 Euro
Livestreamticket: 6 Euro

Kartenvorverkauf online, alle Tickets zzgl. 2.- ReserviX-Servicegebühr/Buchung.
Ticketverkauf auch in allen ReserviX-Vorverkaufsstellen und in der Buchhandlung & Büchergilde im Literaturhaus (Mo-Fr 12-20 Uhr/ Sa 10-15 Uhr)

Bitte informieren Sie sich auf der Website des Literaturhaus Stuttgart über die aktuellen Bedingungen für den Einlass.

Foto: Maurice Weiss / OSTKREUZ

Die Autorin und ehemalige Solitude-Jurorin Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor liest im Literaturhaus Stuttgart aus ihrem Roman Das Meer der Libellen (DuMont Verlag, 2019), der von einer jungen Frau erzählt, die darum kämpft ihren Platz in der Welt zu finden. Die Veranstaltung wird von Elke aus dem Moore moderiert.

»Libellen wirken so vergänglich bleiben aber irgendwie am Leben. Die Migrationsgeschichte der Libellen beschreibt die weiteste Wanderung, die auf der Welt je stattgefunden hat. Um zu schreiben, musste ich den Ort hinter mir lassen, der meine Geschichten inspiriert hat.« Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor

Auf der Insel Pate, vor der Küste Kenias, lebt die eigensinnige Ayaana mit ihrer Mutter Munira. Als ein Matrose namens Muhidin in ihr Leben tritt, findet Ayaana etwas, wonach sie sich immer gesehnt hat: einen Vater. Doch als Ayaana erwachsen wird, muss sie mit einschneidenden Ereignissen zurechtkommen, die nicht nur sie selbst, sondern auch das Leben auf Pate tiefgreifend verändern: Fremde mit zweifelhafter Vergangenheit tauchen auf, religiöse Extremisten suchen Zuflucht auf der Insel, China streckt seine Fühler nach Afrika aus und mit einem Tsunami fordert die Natur ihren Tribut. So beschließt Ayaana, in der Ferne ihr Glück zu suchen und ein Studium in China zu beginnen.

Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor wurde 1968 in Kenia geboren, lebt in Nairobi und gehört zu den führenden Stimmen afrikanischer Literaturen. In den letzten Jahren lebte sie als Fellow des Wissenschaftskollegs Berlin sowie als Stipendiatin des DAAD Künstlerprogramms in Berlin. 2019 war sie eine der drei Kurator*innen des internationalen Stuttgarter Festivals »MEMBRANE. African Literatures and Ideas«.
Sie war außerdem Jurorin für die Solitude-Stipendien 2020/2021 im Praxisfeld Textuell.

Eine Veranstaltung des Literaturhaus Stuttgart in Kooperation mit der Akademie Schloss Solitude und dem Institut francais.

an Veranstaltung(en) beteiligt