Nov 19, 2020

»Nepantlas #04 Fugitive Radio: Radiowalk Helsinki«

Online Event with Sumugan Sivanesan & Irina Mutt in the framework of »Nepantlas: Infrastructures for World-building«

Date: Thu, Nov 19, 2020 14:00 Uhr

Location:

Info:

Curated by Daphne Dragona

Akademie Schloss Solitude - »Nepantlas #04 Fugitive Radio: Radiowalk Helsinki«

Nepantlas #04 »Fugitive Radio: Radio Helsinki«
Sumugan Sivanesan & Irina Mutt

Curated by Daphne Dragona
November 19, 2020, 2–3:30 pm (CET)

Stream Event Page
(clickable ‘listen here’ leads to stream)

Streaming Link

Guests of the fourth online edition of »Nepantlas« are Sumugan Sivanesan and Irina Mutt. Both run »Fugitive Radio« : an urban artistic research project on radio as a social practice, which is designed as a platform for migrant voices and experiences. »Radiowalk Helsinki« is a live radio fanzine developed as part of »Fugitive Radio« featuring the voice of Suva.

»Fugitive Radio« is an urban artistic-research project about radio as a social practice. It proposes to be a platform for migrant voices and experiences and is aligned with anticolonial trajectories. »Radiowalk Helsinki« is a live radio-fanzine that is developed as part of »Fugitive Radio«. As with Gloria Anzaldúa’s ideas about »mestiza«, it is an inclusive, accumulative and elastic structure, operating between thresholds as a way to embrace contradictions and ambiguity. It approaches the means and infrastructures of online radio as instruments of dispersal and play. Drawing on the ephemeral qualities of micropublishing and (online) performance, it employs strategies of replication, disruption and distribution.

»Radiowalk Helsinki« listens into urban environments and network processes, weaving through fragments of texture, text, voice and music. It links listening to haptic experiences of scrolling, browsing and clicking to accentuate experiences of migration, fugitivity, surveillance, precariousness and interdependence. For this special »Nepantlas« session, the audience will experience a »radio-fanzine« and explore how performance can become a means of publishing. Shifting across platforms and navigating collectively, »Radiowalk Helsinki« will examine the possibilities and impact of performative distribution when it comes to addressing urgent topics of our times.

»Fugitive Radio« is a project by Sumugan Sivanesan. In collaboration with Irina Mutt, and with broadcast gardening from Sophea Lerner, the project will evolve over the coming year across a series of workshops, productions, podcasts and events in Helsinki. »Fugitive Radio« is being developed in collaboration with Pixelache and is supported by the Kone Foundation. It will culminate as a series of live broadcasts/interventions at Pixelache Festival #Burn____, June 2021. 

Fugitive Radio broadcasts are supported by {openradio}, a platform for free independently produced live audio: openradio.in

»Nepantlas« is an online program curated by Daphne Dragona. It focuses on projects that introduce social and technological infrastructures based on relationships of care, respect, and interdependence. Sumugan Sivanesan and Irina Mutt are the program’s fourth guests.

Akademie Schloss Solitude - »Nepantlas #04 Fugitive Radio: Radiowalk Helsinki«

»Fugitive Radio«

Registration

Prior registration is required to participate. More detailed instructions for the performance will be provided after the registration process.

Please register until November 17, 2020 with signup@akademie-solitude.de

 

 

The anniversary activities of Akademie Schloss Solitude are supported by the Baden-Württemberg Stiftung and the Wüstenrot Stiftung.

participated in

Nov 19, 2020

»Nepantlas #04 Fugitive Radio: Radiowalk Helsinki«

Online Event mit Sumugan Sivanesan & Irina Mutt im Rahmen der Reihe »Nepantlas: Infrastructures for World-building«

Datum: Do, Nov 19, 2020 14:00 Uhr

Ort:

Info:

Kuratiert von Daphne Dragona

Akademie Schloss Solitude - »Nepantlas #04 Fugitive Radio: Radiowalk Helsinki«

Nepantlas #04 »Fugitive Radio: Radiowalk Helsinki«
Sumugan Sivanesan & Irina Mutt

Kuratiert von Daphne Dragona
19. November 2020, 14–15.30 Uhr 

Open Radio Streaming Link

Open Radio Event Page

In der vierten Online-Ausgabe sind Sumugan Sivanesanund Irina Mutt zu Gast. Beide betreiben »Fugitive Radio«: ein urbanes künstlerisches Forschungsprojekt über Radio als soziale Praxis, welches als Plattform für migrantische Stimmen und Erfahrungen ausgerichtet ist. Radiowalk Helsinki ist ein Live-Radio-Fanzine, das als Teil von Fugitive Radio entwickelt und zusammen mit der Stimme von Suva umgesetzt wird.

»Fugitive Radio« ist ein urbanes künstlerisches Forschungsprojekt über Radio als soziale Praxis. Es versteht sich als Plattform Stimmen und Erfahrungen von Migrant*innen und ist auf antikoloniale Entwicklungen ausgerichtet. »Radiowalk Helsinki« ist Live-Radio-Fanzine, das als Teil von »Fugitive Radio« entwickelt wird. Wie bei den Überlegungen von Gloria Anzaldúa zur Mestiza« handelt es sich um eine inklusive, akkumulative und elastische Struktur, die zwischen Schwellenwerten operiert, um Widersprüche und Ambiguität zu erfassen. Sie nähert sich den Mitteln und Infrastrukturen des Online-Radios als Instrumente der Zerstreuung und des Spiels. Ausgehend von den ephemeren Qualitäten des Mikro-Publishing und der (Online-)Performance setzt es Strategien der Replikation, Unterbrechung und Verbreitung ein. 

»Radiowalk Helsinki« hört in urbane Umgebungen und Netzwerkprozesse hinein, indem es Fragmente von Textur, Text, Stimme und Musik miteinander verwebst. Er verbindet das Hören mit haptischen Erfahrungen des Scrollens, Browsens und Klickens, um Erfahrungen von Migration, Flüchtigkeit, Überwachung, Unsicherheit und wechselseitiger Abhängigkeit zu akzentuieren. In dieser speziellen »Nepantlas«-Session erlebt das Publikum ein »Radio-Fanzine« und erforscht, wie Performance zu einem Mittel der Veröffentlichung werden kann. »Radiowalk Helsinki« wird die Möglichkeiten und Auswirkungen der performativen Verbreitung untersuchen, wenn es darum geht, drängende Themen unserer Zeit anzusprechen.

»Fugitive Radio« ist ein Projekt von Sumugan Sivanesan. In Zusammenarbeit mit Irina Mutt und Sophea Lerner wird sich das Projekt im Laufe des kommenden Jahres in einer Reihe von Workshops, Produktionen, Podcasts und Veranstaltungen in Helsinki weiterentwickeln. »Fugitive Radio« wird in Zusammenarbeit mit Pixelache entwickelt und von der Kone-Stiftung unterstützt. Es gipfelt in einer Reihe von Live-Übertragungen/Interventionen beim Pixelache-Festival #Burn____, Juni 2021. 

Fugitive Radio-Sendungen werden von {openradio} unterstützt, einer Plattform für freien, unabhängig produziertes Live-Audio: openradio.in

»Nepantlas« ist ein von Daphne Dragona kuratiertes Online-Programm. Es konzentriert sich auf Projekte, die soziale und technologische Infrastrukturen einführen, basierend auf Beziehungen der Fürsorge, des Respekts und der Wechselseitigkeit. Sumugan Sivanesan, Irina Mutt und Sophea Lerner sind die Gäste der vierten Ausgabe der Veranstaltungsreihe.

Akademie Schloss Solitude - »Nepantlas #04 Fugitive Radio: Radiowalk Helsinki«

Alle Vorträge und Diskussionen im Rahmen der Reihe finden in englischer Sprache statt.

Registrierung

Für die Teilnahme ist eine Anmeldung im Voraus erforderlich. Detaillierte Anweisungen für das Event werden nach der Anmeldung zur Verfügung gestellt.

Bitte melden Sie sich bis zum 17. November 2020 an:
signup@akademie-solitude.de

 

Die Jubiläums-Aktivitäten der Akademie Schloss Solitude werden gefördert durch die Baden-Württemberg Stiftung und die Wüstenrot Stiftung.

an Veranstaltung(en) beteiligt