Cristina Planas

Field of Practice:

Visual

Fellowship:

Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

London, United Kingdom

Stay(s):

July 2022 - Dez 2022

Born 1992 in Montreal/Canada.

Cristina Planas studied fine art at Central Saint Martins – University of the Arts London/UK (2012), and received her BA from the Slade School of Fine Art in London (2018). Prior to this, she worked as an art director developing makeup and fragrance campaigns.

Cristina Planas is an amateur boxer and competes internationally. She has won three titles, most recently claiming the national title in her category in the England Boxing Developments Championship (2019). In the unfolding narrative of her athletic journey, she created Femme Brutale, an alter ego and performative identity. Under this moniker she has developed a series of solo performances entitled The Fissure, performed at COB Gallery, London (2018), and has additionally collaborated with artist and performer Michele Lamy on several exhibitions and events.

In 2019, she received a Research & Creation grant from Canada Council for the Arts, which is currently allowing her to undertake the development of a three-part moving-image piece entitled Desire, Nostalgia, Vision. Exploring the intersections of personal narrative with forms of the spectacle, this work uses archival footage and re-enactments to explore her family’s Spanish military history in a semi-fictional account of the creation of her alter ego.

Cristina Planas

Praxisfeld:

Visuell

Stipendium:

Solitude-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

London, Großbritannien

Aufenthalt(e):

Apr 2021 - Sept 2021

Geboren 1992 in Montreal/Kanada.

Cristina Planas studierte bildende Kunst an der Central Saint Martins – University of the Arts London/Großbritannien (2011–2012) und absolvierte ihren BA an der Slade School of Fine Art in London (2018). Zuvor arbeitete sie als Art-Direktorin für Make-up- und Parfümkampagnen.

Sie ist Amateurboxerin und nimmt an internationalen Wettkämpfen teil. Sie gewann bereits drei Titel, zuletzt den Nationaltitel in ihrer Kategorie beim England Boxing National Development Championship (2019). Vor dem Hintergrund dieses sich entfaltenden Narrativs ihrer sportlichen Karriere schuf sie Femme Brutal, ihr Alter Ego und ihre performative Identität, unter deren Namen sie eine Reihe von Solo-Performances entwickelte (The Fissure, COB Gallery, London, 2018) und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Künstlerin und Performerin Michèle Lamy verschiedene Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen realisierte.

2019 erhielt sie vom Canada Council for the Arts den Research and Creation Grant, der es ihr derzeit ermöglicht, ein dreiteiliges mediales Werk Desire, Nostalgia, Vision zu entwickeln. Die Arbeit untersucht an der Schnittstelle zwischen persönlichen Erzählungen und Formen des Spektakels anhand von Archivmaterial und Reenactments die militärische Vergangenheit ihrer spanischen Familie in einer semi-fiktionalen Darstellung der Entstehung ihres Alter Egos.