Marcel Mettelsiefen

City, Country:

Berlin, Germany

Year:

2013, 2014, 2015

Stay(s):

Sept 2013 - Oct 2013

Born 1978 in Munich/Germany.

Marcel Mettelsiefen, who grew up in Spain and Germany, took up photography after his graduation. Through his collaboration with the 1998 founded journal zenith – Zeitschrift für den Orient he came to the field of photojournalism.

In 2000 he travelled for several months to Israel and Palestine and worked as a photographer for the news agency AP. After his return, the collaboration with news agency dpa began, for which he reported out of conflict areas such as Afghanistan (2001), Iraq (2003) and Haiti (2004). Aside from his work as a photographer, he took up medical studies at Berliner Charité, Germany in 2004. At the end of 2008 he interrupted his studies to realize a 13 month long photographic project in Afghanistan. Upon his return, he worked closely with Christoph Reuter, correspondent of stern in Kabul/Afghanistan.

Together with Christoph Reuter he published the book Kunduz, 04. September 2009 in 2009. It compiles a search for evidence, a work of research of the air strikes in the south of the city Kunduz/Afghanistan, and a series of portraits of the surviving dependents of the 92 civilians who lost their lives. This project was nominated for the Henri Nannen Preis in 2010 and accompanied by an exhibition in Potsdam/Germany (2010), Hamburg/Germany (2010), and Munich. The exhibition was visited by the former Minister of Defense Karl-Theodor zu Guttenberg, who asked for support in the intermediation of compensation of the bereaved families. At the end of August 2010 every family received 5.000€ compensation. A part of the project is displayed at the international traveling exhibition Freedom to Create.

In early 2011 Marcel Mettelsiefen has photographed for the journals stern, Der Spiegel, and Geo in Egypt, Libya, Syria, and Afghanistan. He began filming in December of 2011. Altogether he travelled 14 times to revolutionary Syria to report undercover. During this time, Heimlich in Homs – Im Herzen des Syrischen Aufstandes for ARD, which was awarded with the Axel Springer Preis; Homs – A City under Siege, a 30 minute documentary for CNN, which was awarded with the Edward R. Murrow Award; and many other productions with ZDF, ARD, canal+, channel 14, and Al Jazeera could be realized.

Together with Yasemin Ergin he obtained the Gabriel-Grüner-Stipendium of Zeitenspiegel Reportagen that includes a two-month residency at Akademie Schloss Solitude.

Marcel Mettelsiefen

Stadt, Land:

Berlin, Deutschland

Jahrgang:

2013, 2014, 2015

Aufenthalt(e):

Sept 2013 - Okt 2013

Geboren 1978 in München/Deutschland.

Marcel Mettelsiefen, aufgewachsen in Spanien und Deutschland, begann nach dem Abitur zu fotografieren. Zum Fotojournalismus kam er über seine Mitarbeit an der 1998 gegründeten Zeitschrift zenith – Zeitschrift für den Orient.

Im Jahr 2000 reiste er für mehrere Monate nach Israel und Palästina und fotografierte dort für die Nachrichtenagentur AP. Nach seiner Rückkehr aus dem Nahen Osten begann eine Zusammenarbeit mit der Nachrichtenagentur dpa, für die er aus Krisengebieten wie Afghanistan (2001), Irak (2003) und Haiti (2004) berichtete. Neben seiner Arbeit als Fotograf, begann Marcel Mettelsiefen 2004 ein Medizinstudium an der Berliner Charité in Berlin/Deutschland. Ende 2008 unterbrach er sein Studium und ging für 13 Monate nach Afghanistan, um dort ein fotografisches Langzeitprojekt zu realisieren. Es folgt eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit Christoph Reuter, stern-Korrespondent in Kabul/Afghanistan.

2009 veröffentlicht er zusammen mit Reuter das Buch Kunduz, 04. September 2009. Eine Spurensuche, eine Recherche des Luftangriffs im Süden der Stadt Kunduz/Afghanistan und eine Porträtserie der Hinterbliebenen der insgesamt 92 Zivilisten, die dabei ihr Leben verloren. Das Projekt wurde 2010 für den Henri Nannen Preis nominiert. Die begleitende Ausstellung wurde in Potsdam/Deutschland (2010), Hamburg/Deutschland (2010) und München/Deutschland (2011) präsentiert. Bundesverteidigungsminister zu Guttenberg besuchte im Mai 2010 die Ausstellung und bat bei den Vermittlungen für die Entschädigungen der Opferfamilien mitzuhelfen. Ende August 2010 wurde jede Familie mit 5.000 Euro entschädigt. Ein Teil des Projektes ist in der internationalen Wanderausstellung Freedom to Create zu sehen.

Im Frühjahr 2011 hat Marcel Mettelsiefen im Auftrag der Magazine stern, Der Spiegel und Geo in Ägypten, Libyen, Syrien und Afghanistan fotografiert. Im Dezember 2011 fing Mettelsiefen an zu filmen. Insgesamt 14 Mal ist er Undercover in das revolutionäre Syrien gereist. Entstanden sind unter anderem Heimlich in Homs – Im Herzen des Syrischen Aufstandes für die ARD, ausgezeichnet mit dem Axel Springer Preis; die 30-minütige Doku Homs – A City under Siege für CNN, ausgezeichnet mit dem Edward R. Murrow Award, und zahlreichen weiteren Stücke für ZDF, ARD, canal+, channel4 und Al Jazeera .

Gemeinsam mit Yasemin Ergin erhielt er 2013 das Gabriel-Grüner-Stipendium von Zeitenspiegel Reportagen, welches mit einem zweimonatigen Aufenthalt an der Akademie Schloss Solitude verbunden ist.