Theo Ferreira Gomes

Field of Practice:

Art Coordination

City, Country:

Year:

2022

Stay(s):

Apr 2022 - Mar 2023

Born 1993 inNiterói/Brazil.

Theo Ferreira Gomes is a post-disciplinary designer, curator and DJ based in Stuttgart/Germany and Pforzheim/Germany. He is currently finishing a Master in Design and Future Making at the Pforzheim University. He holds a BA in fashion design from the Pforzheim University.

Currently he is a curatorial fellow with Ornamenta 2024, a transdisciplinary cultural program based in Pforzheim. It explores notions of translocal networks and updated regionalism in the Nord-Schwarzwald region through artistic and curatorial research. 2021 he was involved in the archival research group of the international research project Beyond Matter – Cultural Heritage on the Verge of Virtual Reality at the Hertz-Lab of ZKM Karlsruhe/Germany as part of the archival team.

Since 2019 he has been a board member of Leerstand als Freiraum e.V. (LAF), a collectively-run independent art space with a project space in Pforzheim’s city center. LAF dedicates itself to opening up cultural spaces and initiates projects within the fields of art, urbanism and society. Since 2022 LAF has been part of the co-research project Creative Ideas by Young People in Urban Centers by the Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development.

2016 he received a project stipend from ASApreneurs to develop a sustainable-fashionprototype in cooperation with partners from Konstanz/Germany and Tirrupur/South India, closely collaborating with factory workers and their local expertise in Tirrupur. Part of the stipend was an extensive educational program for critical engagement with colonial power relations, structural racism and other types of discrimination. 2020 he won together with Fabian Faylona and LAF the design competition Nimm Platz by Emma Kreativ Zentrum with the aim of sustainably and collectively reactivating a wasteland close to Pforzheim’s city center.

Theo Ferreira Gomes

Praxisfeld:

Kunstkoordination

Stadt, Land:

Pforzheim, Deutschland

Jahrgang:

2022

Aufenthalt(e):

Apr 2022 - März 2023

Geboren 1993 in Niterói/Brasilien.

Theo Ferreira Gomes, post-disziplinärer Designer, Kurator und DJ, lebt und arbeitet in Stuttgart/Deutschland und Pforzheim/Deutschland, wo er an der Hochschule Pforzheim einen Master in Design and Future Making absolviert. Seinen BA absolvierte er ebenfalls an der Hochschule Pforzheim im Fach Mode.

Er ist derzeit Fellow im Kuratorenteam der Ornamenta 2024, einem transdisziplinären Kulturprogramm aus Pforzheim, das spekulativ aktualisierten Regionalismus und translokale Netzwerke in der Region Nordschwarzwald untersucht. 2021 war er im Archiv-Research des Forschungsprojekts Beyond Matter – Cultural Heritage on the Verge of Virtual Reality am Hertz Labor des ZKM Karlsruhe/Deutschland tätig.

Seit 2019 ist er Vorstandsmitglied des Leerstand als Freiraum e.V. (LAF), einem kollektiv-geführten Verein mit einem Projektraum in der Pforzheimer Innenstadt. LAF setzt sich für kulturelle (Lebens-)Räume in Pforzheim ein und initiiert Projekte, die sich im Spannungsfeld von Kunst, Urbanität und Gesellschaft bewegen. Seit 2022 ist der LAF e.V. Teil des Co-Forschungsprojekts Kreative Ideen junger Menschen für die Innenstädte des Bundesinstituts für Bau-, Stadt- und Raumforschung.

Im Rahmen eines Projektstipendiums von ASApreneurs entwickelte Theo Ferreira Gomes 2016 ein Upcyclingprojekt für eine nachhaltigere Modeproduktion in Kollaboration mit Partnern in Konstanz/Deutschland und Tirrupur/Südindien. Teil des Stipendiums war ein intensives Seminarprogramm, welches eine kritische Auseinandersetzung und Sensibilisierung gegenüber kolonialen Machtverhältnissen, strukturellem Rassismus und Alltagsdiskriminierung beinhaltete. 2019 gewann er gemeinsam mit Fabian Faylona und dem LAF den Design Wettbewerb Nimm Platz des Emma Kreativzentrums, für die Umsetzung eines Entwurfs zur gemeinschaftlichen und nachhaltigen Belebung einer Brachfläche nahe der Pforzheimer Innenstadt.