Zeina Shahla

Fellowship:

Cultural Journalism & Digital Media

City, Country:

Damaskus, Syrien

Year:

2021

Stay(s):

Sept 2021 - Nov 2021

Born in Damascus/Syria, where she is currently living and working, in 1982.

Zeina is a Syrian journalist. She received her Bachelor’s degree in Media Studies from the University of Damascus in 2017, graduating from the Syrian International Academy in Damascus with a diploma in International and Diplomatic Affairs in 2019. Her previous qualifications include a Bachelor’s degree in Information Technology from the University of Damascus in 2004.

Zeina began a career in journalism in 2017, by focusing chiefly on social and humanitarian aspects of the war that Syria has been enduring since 2011, and by reporting related stories to local and Arab media outlets, including BBC Arabic and the Alquds Alarabi newspaper. In the same period, she embarked on social and cultural research with a number of institutions in Syria and Lebanon, including the American University in Beirut. Since 2017, Zeina has been a member of Radio Souriat, a Syrian non-profit organization which focuses on development issues through media, especially those related to women and young people.
Zeina’s investigations center particularly on the efforts that are made to preserve Syrian heritage in the wake of the brutal war that Syria has been experiencing.

In 2017, she received a grant from the Ettijahat Cultural Institute in Lebanon to undertake research on the effects of the Syrian war on Damascene traditional textiles, the results of which are now being published and translated. In 2018 and 2019, she collaborated with a local project specializing in handcrafts, called »Sama Handmade«, to write a series of blogs about different topics relating to Syrian culture. In 2020, she was a finalist in Fakhri Albaroudi competition for researchers, a Syrian award given to young people who seek to document the history of their country.

Zeina Shahla

Stipendium:

Kulturjournalismus & Digitale Medien

Stadt, Land:

Damaskus, Syrien

Jahrgang:

2021

Aufenthalt(e):

Sept 2021 - Nov 2021

Geboren 1982 in Damaskus/Syrien.

Zeina Shahla ist Journalistin. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Damaskus, wo sie 2004 ihren BA in Informationstechnologie und 2017 ihren BA in Medien an der Damascus University absolvierte. 2019 schloss sie ihr Diplomstudium der Internationalen und diplomatischen Beziehungen an der Syrian International Academy ab.

Shahla begann ihre journalistische Karriere 2017. In ihren Artikeln und Berichten für lokale und arabische Medien, darunter BBC Arabic und Alquds Alarabi Newspaper, konzentrierte sich vor allem auf die sozialen und humanitären Aspekte des Krieges, den Syrien seit 2011 erlebt. Sie forschte zudem zu sozialen und kulturellen Themen an verschiedenen Institutionen in Syrien und im Libanon wie der American University of Beirut. Seit 2017 ist sie Mitglied von Radio Souriat, einer syrischen Non-Profit-Organisation, die sich für die Belange und Sichtbarkeit von Frauen und Jugendlichen in den Medien einsetzt. 

2017 erhielt sie ein Stipendium der Kulturinstitution Ettijahat in Beirut, das es ihr ermöglichte, eine Forschungsarbeit über die Auswirkungen des Krieges in Syrien auf die traditionelle Textilherstellung in Damaskus zu beenden, die nun übersetzt und veröffentlicht wird. In den Jahren 2018 und 2019 arbeitete sie zusammen mit »Sama Handmade«, einem lokalen Projekt, das sich auf Kunsthandwerk spezialisiert hat, um eine Reihe von Blogs über verschiedene Themen der syrischen Kultur zu schreiben. 2020 war sie nominiert für den Fakhri al-Baroudi Award for Young Historians, der an junge Menschen in Syrien vergeben wird, die in ihrer Arbeit die Geschichte ihres Landes dokumentieren.