Aug 20, 2017

Final concerts of the Summer Academy 2017

On Saturday, August 19, and Thursday, August 20, Ensemble SurPlus plays works by the composers of this year's Summer Academy.

Date: Aug 20, 2017, 19:00 Uhr

Duration: Aug 20, 2017

Location: Akademie Schloss Solitude

To conclude the Summer Academy on August 19 and 20, 2017, a new generation of composers will be introduced. On both concert evenings at 7 p.m., the Freiburg Ensemble SurPlus will perform compositions by the master class participants: Murat Çolak (Turkey), Peter Fahey (Ireland), Bnaya Halperin-Kaddari (Israel), Vladimir Guicheff Bogacz (Uruguay), Jarko Hartikainen (Finland), Matti Heininen (Finland), Hunjoo Jung (South Corea), Mu-Xuan Lin (Taiwan), Fernando Munizaga (Chile), Justina Repečkaitė (Lithuania), Benjamin Scheuer (Deutschland), Alexandros Spyrou (Greece), Zeynep Toraman (Turkey), Eiko Tsukamoto (Japan), Anna-Louisa Walton (USA), Nina C. Young (USA).

Every two years since 2003, the public foundation and residency program Akademie Schloss Solitude hosts a summer master class for young composers. In 2017, the Summer Academy will take place for the eighth time.Besides Chaya Czernowin as the permanent faculty of the Academy, Johannes Schöllhorn und Samir Odeh-Tamimi, this year’s guest teachers, are invited. The summer master class focuses on the compositions of each participant. Next to the mediation of compositional thought, individual classes, group work and presentations of the composers are part of the program.

The participants work together with the Ensemble SurPlus to present their works to the public in two concerts at the end of the master class. Ensemble SurPlus, founded in 1992 in Freiburg, has worked closely with the Akademie Schloss Solitude since 1994. The main aim of Ensemble Surplus is to interpret new and unknown compositions, unbiased of the style or intellectual and technical requirements of the pieces. Its mission can then loosely be described as being »open for the new«, which was significantly shaped by its founder the conductor, artistic director and pianist James Avery, who passed away in 2009. Numerous projects that were considered impossible to realize – for example the presentation of works of the complex music school (such as Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf, Frank Cox, Aaron Cassidy, and many more) – have since then passed on this intellectual claim.

The interpreters of the final concerts are: Beverley Ellis (violoncello), Stefan Häussler (violin), Christian Kemper (oboe), Sven Kestel (double bass), Daniel Lorenzo (piano), Irmela Roelcke (piano), Martina Roth (flute), Sylvia Schmückle-Wagner (clarinet), Olaf Tzschoppe (percussion), Erich Wagner (conductor and clarinet), Sophie Wahlmüller (viola).


Saturday, August 19, 2017, 7 p.m.

Zeynep Toraman
disillusions (2017), premiere
for violin, violoncello, and percussion

Vladimir Guicheff Bogacz
Gentilezas (2013)
for a pianist and a percussionist

Eiko Tsukamoto
Mit dem Ei (2017), premiere
for alto flute, bass clarinet, bongo drum, piano, violin, and violoncello

Hunjoo Jung
GESTALT I: Discursive Unities for Large Ensemble (2017), European premiere
for Ensemble


Benjamin Scheuer
Blaupausen (2017), premiere
for flute, bass flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, performer (objects, sampling), violin, and violoncello

Alexandros Spyrou
anaphandon (2017), premiere
for flute, alto flute, oboe, clarinet, and bass clarinet

Anna-Louise Walton
Jökulsárlón (2016)
for violin, violoncello, flute, and percussion

Fernando Munizaga
Mi última palabra china (2015/2017)
for flute, oboe, bass clarinet, percussion, piano, violin, viola, violoncello, and double bass

Sunday, August 20, 2017, 7 p.m.

Bnaya Halperin-Kaddari
Gouache (2014)
for piano

Murat Çolak
Orchid (2017), premiere
for clarinet, percussion, synthesizer, string trio, and electronics

Nina C. Young
Rising Tide (2015), German premiere
for flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin, viola, and violoncello

Mu-Xuan Lin
moss .. lichen … kodama purr …. (2017), premiere
for flute, clarinet, piano, violin, violoncello, and electric fans


Matti Heininen
Spettrale (2017), premiere
for piano, oboe and percussion

Justina Repečkaitė
Acupuncture (2014)
for piccolo flute, alto flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, piano, violin, alto, and violoncello

Jarkko Hartikainen
Elevations (2017), premiere
for flute, oboe, clarinet, marimba, piano, violin, viola, violoncello, and double bass

Peter Fahey
To the Woman Going Up the Escalator at Columbus Circle at Five-Thirty Last Evening (2017), premiere
​for flute, oboe, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin, viola, cello, and double bass

​With the kind support of Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung .

The concerts are open to the public. Admission is free.