Marie Zimmermann fellowship

In April 2008, the former director of the Deutsches Schauspielhaus in Hamburg, Friedrich Schirmer, endowed a fellowship designed to support a young dramatist from the German-speaking theater scene in memory of Marie Zimmermann, the dramatist and festival organizer who died in 2007. Akademie Schloss Solitude is responsible for organizing and awarding the fellowship.

Since 2019, the Marie Zimmermann Fellowship for Dramaturgy has been funded by the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts Baden-Wuerttemberg. This fellowship is unique in the context of artist-in-residence programs, and is aimed at young, particularly talented dramatists from the German-speaking area. It includes prize money of 5,000 euros and a two-month stay at Akademie Schloss Solitude in a free, furnished living/working studio.

Until 2018, the jury for the Marie Zimmermann Fellowship and the Marie Zimmermann Prize consisted of Friedrich Schirmer, Christoph Müller and Jean-Baptiste Joly.

From 2019 to 2021, the jury has been composed of the following representatives of the Baden-Wuerttemberg’s theater scene:
Friedrich Schirmer (artistic director of the Württembergische Landesbühne Esslingen)
Martina Grohmann (co-director of Theater Rampe, Stuttgart)
Jürgen Popig (chief dramatist at Theater und Orchester Heidelberg)
Elke aus dem Moore (director, Akademie Schloss Solitude)

Since 2022, the jury includes:
Sarah Israel, dramaturg and artistic director of RODEO Festival Munich
Elke aus dem Moore, director of Akademie Schloss Solitude
Dieter Ripberger, dramaturg and artistic co-director of the Institut für theatrale Zukunftsforschung at Zimmertheater Tübingen
Friedrich Schirmer, dramaturg and artistic co-director of Württembergische Landesbühne Esslingen