May 10, 2022

The new Board of Trustees of Akademie Schloss Solitude has been appointed – Cem Özdemir is the new Chair of the Akademie’s Board of Trustees

Photo: Akademie Schloss Solitude

Akademie Schloss Solitude is delighted to announce details of its newly constituted Board of Trustees.

Cem Özdemir was unanimously elected Chair of the Akademie’s Board of Trustees. He has been Federal Minister for Food and Agriculture for Bündnis 90/Die Grünen (Alliance 90/The Greens) as part of the new federal government since December 8, 2021. Prasanna Oommen has been appointed Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees. She is a host, PR specialist and author from Cologne.

The Board of Trustees at Akademie Schloss Solitude is composed of prominent individuals from artistic and public life as well as those from science and business, representatives of the parliamentary groups in the German Landtag (State Parliament) and of the city of Stuttgart itself. The Board of Trustees is tasked with advising the Foundation Board and the Akademie’s management on all fundamental issues.

The Chair of the Board of Trustees, Cem Özdemir, and the Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees, Prasanna Oommen, released the following statements upon taking office:

»With its artists’ fellowship program, Akademie Schloss Solitude enjoys an excellent reputation throughout Europe. It is a beacon for Stuttgart, for Baden-Wuerttemberg, but – and this is how I understand my vocation – its great work also radiates beyond state borders, shining further afield. It is therefore a great honor for me to chair the Board of Trustees.« Cem Özdemir

»I am delighted to have been appointed to the Board of Trustees in the capacity of Vice Chair. Being part of a Board of Trustees which not only brimming with expertise and innovation, but also a particular kind of energy, really is a special honor. And I hope that we can provide the Akademie’s management and Foundation Board with constructive support as far as contemporary and equitable international artistic production are concerned.« Prasanna Oommen

Elke aus dem Moore, Director of Akademie Schloss Solitude, is looking forward to collaborating with the reappointed and newly-appointed members of the Board of Trustees with anticipation and enthusiasm:

»I am delighted that the Akademie Schloss Solitude’s Board of Trustees has been enriched by so many new members and thus expertise from various areas of cultural and social life. The Akademie stands for diversity, something which is also reflected in the composition of the Board of Trustees. I am extremely grateful for the support of the former members and am looking forward to collaborating with the new line-up going forward.«
Elke aus dem Moore

Bei der letzten Kuratoriumssitzung der Akademie Schloss Solitude am 3. Dezember 2021 wurden die folgenden Persönlichkeiten neu bzw. erneut berufen:

Representatives of the cultural sphere

Dr. Jan Bürger, Deputy Archive Manager, Development Advisor, Deutsche Schillergesellschaft e. V. / Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach; Alexander Farenholtz, Retired Administrative Director (2002-2019) of the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation), Halle; Irmgard Maria Fellner, Director for Cultural Relations Policy and Deputy Head of the Directorate-General for Culture and Communication at the Federal Foreign Office, Berlin; Dr Annika Hampel, Scientific Manager at the Max Planck Society, Freiburg im Breisgau; Prof. Florian Hoelscher, member of Ensemble Ascolta, Stuttgart; Anna Konik, curator at AIR, Ujazdów Castle, Warsaw; Prof. Mark Kwami, designer, Berlin; Prof. Dr. Anna Lipphardt, Professor of Cultural Studies, University of Freiburg; Margareth Obexer, author, Berlin; Prasanna Oommen, host, PR specialist and author, Cologne (Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees); Dieter Ripberger, director of Zimmertheater Tübingen and Gitte Zschoch, General Secretary, German Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations (ifa), Stuttgart.


Representatives of the public sphere

Prof. Danica Dakic, Professor and Program Director at the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar; Prof. Dr. Giovanni Galizia, Professor for Zoology and Neurobiology and Director of the Zukunftskolleg Institute of Advanced Study at the University of Konstanz; Julia Grosse, art historian and publicist, Berlin; Dr. Ing. Klaus Harms, Robert Bosch GmbH, Vaihingen/Enz; Dr. h. c. Albrecht Hauff, CEO of the publisher Georg Thieme Verlag, Stuttgart; Dr. phil. Andreas Kaminski, Head of the High Performance Computing Center Stuttgart (HLRS) at the University of Stuttgart; Anh-Linh Ngo, architect, Berlin Cem Özdemir, Federal Minister for Food and Agriculture, Bündnis 90/Die Grünen, Berlin (Chair of the Board of Trustees); Dr Simone Rehm, Vice Rector for Information Technology, University of Stuttgart; Sabine Schirra, Head of Kulturamt (Cultural Office) Mannheim and Ülkü Süngün, artist, Stuttgart.


Representatives by virtue of office

Dr Rainer Balzer, Member of the State Parliament, AfD, Bruchsal; Stephen Brauer, Member of the State Parliament, FDP, Crailsheim; Marc Gegenfurtner Head of the Kulturamt (Cultural Office), State Capital Stuttgart; Prof. Leni Hoffmann, Member of the Advisory Board of Kunststiftung Baden-Wuerttemberg; Erwin Köhler, Member of the State Parliament, Bündnis 90/Die Grünen, Stuttgart; Dr. Nils Schmid, Member of the German Bundestag, Member of the Advisory Board of Kunststiftung Baden-Württemberg; Katrin Steinhülb-Joos, Member of the State Parliament, SPD, Stuttgart and Andreas Sturm, Member of the State Parliament, CDU, Hockenheim.