Yiheng Yvonne Wu


Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

Brooklyn, NY, United States


Aug 2007 - Aug 2007

Born in 1981 in Taipei/Taiwan.

Wu studied between 1998 and 1999 with Sophia Serghi composition at the College of William & Mary, Williamsburg, VA/USA. In 1999 she studied with Michael Czajkowski at the Aspen Music Festival and School, CO/USA, and with Sydney Hodkinson in 2001. Until 2003 she studied with Matthew Suttor, Kathryn Alexander, John Halle at Yale University, CO/USA and completed her B. A. in Music with distinction cum laude.

In 2006 she studied with Steven Takasugi in San Diego, California. In 2004 she participated in the Young Composer’s Workshop by ARRAYMUSIC Toronto/Canada.

Selected works: »I alone am expressionless« for string quartet (2000); »Piano Suite for Joanna« for the young musician (2001); »Undulations« octet for flute/piccolo, Englisch horn, bassoon, harp, trombone, viola, percussion (2002); »and then one day…« for two string quartets, bass, woodwinds, narrator (2003); »Edgy Quartet« for clarinet, trumpet, bass, percussion (2004).

In 2002 Wu was awarded the Abraham Beekman Cox Prize in Composition, Yale Department of Music, and in 2005 she won the first prize of the audience vote and the third prize in the Formosa Composition Competition.