Dez 9, 2021

Online talk and panel discussion »Everyday Forms of Resistance«

With Ika Sienkiewicz-Nowacka and Karolina Grzywnowicz

Date: Dez 9, 2021, 19:30 Uhr

Duration: Dez 9, 2021

Location: Online

Info:

The event takes place in English.

Installationsansicht Karolina Grzywnowicz: Bedtime, 2021

Karolina Grzywnowicz, »Bedtime«, 2021. Photo: Michał Matejko

How can humanity be preserved in times of social, political or ecological unrest?

At the opening of the first exhibition in the Horizons series, in which fellows of the Eastern European Network present their current works, Akademie Schloss Solitude warmly invites you to a talk followed by a panel discussion on everyday forms of political resistance.

The two guests, Ika Sienkiewicz-Nowacka and Karolina Grzywnowicz from Warsaw/Poland, will be discussing survival strategies, the power of the powerless, and care and hospitality as forms of resistance.

The exhibition Everyday Forms of Resistance (Warsaw/Poland, 2021), curated by Ika Sienkiewicz-Nowacka, thematizes caring, tender and mindful ways of approaching conflicts, environmental disasters and xenophobia. Palestine serves as a metaphor for a place which faces numerous challenges posed by our contemporary world.

Following the presentation of Karolina Grzywnowicz’s project Bedtime (2021), everyday forms of resistance in Palestine and beyond will be discussed. What sources of strength can empower non-violent forms of resistance? How can we stay calm instead of merely re-acting? How can active forms of resistance be sustained? How can resistance be practiced in a polarized world?

Ika Sienkiewicz-Nowacka, former fellow at Akademie Solitude (2002), directs the residency program at the Center for Contemporary Art, located at Ujazdówski Castle in Warsaw. In 2018, she initiated the project Everyday Forms of Resistance, dedicated to everyday acts and expressions of resistance in Palestine and beyond. In cooperation with the city of Ramallah/Palestine, AIR Antwerp/Belgium and the Helsinki International Artist Program (HIAP, Helsinki/Finland), artists from Poland, Palestine, Finland and Belgium were offered residencies and were invited to participate in public discussions and a joint exhibition.

In this context, the interdisciplinary artist Karolina Grzywnowicz, also a former fellow at Akademie Schloss Solitude (2018) as well as at Ujazdówski Castle (2019/2020), spent two months in Ramallah/Palestine in 2019.

Her current project Bedtime (2021) explores lullabies as forms of resistance in everyday life in the occupied Palestinian territories: In the streets of the Palestinian camps, open violence and arbitrary, unjustified arrests, not only of adults but also of children, are a daily occurrence. At night, soldiers conduct house searches and disturb the peace. Sleep deprivation, a method of torture used by oppressors worldwide, is used here against entire neighborhoods. Against this backdrop of coercion, Karolina Grzywnowicz has recorded lullabies that refugees sing despite the power tactics of cultural uprooting and sleep deprivation. As quiet and gentle as they are, these songs are also subversive and resistant acts which may elicit punishment.

For more information on the Everyday Forms of Resistance project, click here.

Register for the Zoom Talk and Discussion

If you would like to join the Zoom talk please register with: https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZcrdeuspjIiHND5xTBoZyN9DfTHv3SFQXgJ

Follow the event via Live Stream on Vimeo

Or follow the event live on Vimeo: https://vimeo.com/event/1636167

Vimeo

By loading the video, you accept Vimeo's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

participated in

Dez 9, 2021

Gespräch und Podiumsdiskussion »Everyday Forms of Resistance«

Mit Ika Sienkiewicz-Nowacka und Karolina Grzywnowicz

Datum: Dez 9, 2021, 19:30 Uhr

Dauer: Dez 9, 2021

Ort: Online

Info:

Diese Veranstaltung findet in englischer Sprache statt.

Installationsansicht Karolina Grzywnowicz: Bedtime, 2021

Karolina Grzywnowicz, »Bedtime«, 2021. Photo: Michał Matejko

Wie kann Menschlichkeit in Zeiten sozialer, politischer oder ökologischer Unruhen bewahrt werden?

Zum Auftakt der ersten Ausstellung der Reihe Horizons, in der Stipendiat*innen des Osteuropäischen Netzwerks aktuelle Arbeiten präsentieren, lädt die Akademie Schloss Solitude zu einem Gespräch mit anschließender Podiumsdiskussion zu alltäglichen Formen des politischen Widerstands ein.

Die beiden Gäste Ika Sienkiewicz-Nowacka und Karolina Grzywnowicz aus Warschau/Polen sprechen über Überlebensstrategien, die Macht der Ohnmächtigen sowie Fürsorge und Gastfreundschaft als Formen des Widerstands.

Die von Ika Sienkiewicz-Nowacka kuratierte Ausstellung Everyday Forms of Resistance (Warschau/Polen, 2021) behandelt fürsorgliche, zärtliche und achtsame Arten des Umgangs mit Konflikten, Umweltkatastrophen und Fremdenhass. Palästina dient als Metapher für einen Ort, der mit zahlreichen Herausforderungen der gegenwärtigen Welt konfrontiert ist.

Anschließend an die Präsentation des Projekts Bedtime (2021) von Karolina Grzywnowicz werden alltägliche Formen des Widerstands in Palästina und darüber hinaus besprochen. Was sind die Kraftquellen für gewaltfreie Formen des Widerstands? Wie können wir ruhig bleiben anstatt bloß zu re-agieren (re-act)? Wie können die Handlungsformen des Widerstands aufrechterhalten werden? Wie kann Widerstand in einer polarisierten Welt ausgeübt werden?

Ika Sienkiewicz-Nowacka, ehemalige Stipendiatin an der Akademie Solitude (2002), leitet das Residenzprogramm am Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst Schloss Ujazdowski in Warschau. 2018 initiierte sie das Projekt Everyday Forms of Resistance, das sich alltäglichen Handlungen und Ausdrücken des Widerstands in Palästina und darüber hinaus widmet. In Kooperation mit der Stadt Ramallah/Palästina, AIR Antwerpen/Belgien und dem Helsinki International Artist Program (HIAP, Helsinki/Finnland) wurden Künstler*innen aus Polen, Palästina, Finnland und Belgien Residenzen ermöglicht sowie öffentliche Diskussionen und eine gemeinsame Ausstellung veranstaltet.

In diesem Rahmen hielt sich die interdisziplinär arbeitende Künstlerin Karolina Grzywnowicz, die ebenfalls Stipendiatin an der Akademie Schloss Solitude (2018) sowie am Schloss Ujazdowski (2019/2020) war, 2019 für zwei Monate in Ramallah/Palästina auf.

Ihr aktuelles Projekt Bedtime (2021) befasst sich mit Schlafliedern als Formen des Widerstands im Alltag der besetzten palästinensischen Gebiete: In den Straßen der palästinensischen Lager gehören offene Gewalt und ungerechtfertigte Verhaftungen nicht nur von Erwachsenen sondern auch von Kindern zum täglichen Geschehen. Nachts führen Soldat*innen Hausdurchsuchungen durch und stören die Stille. Schlafentzug, eine weltweit von Unterdrücker*innen verwendete Foltermethode, wird hier gegen ganze Nachbarschaften eingesetzt. Hier hat Karolina Grzywnowicz Schlaflieder aufgezeichnet, die Flüchtlinge trotz der Machttechniken der kulturellen Entwurzelung und des Schlafentzugs singen. So ruhig und sanft sie auch sind, sind diese Lieder auch subversive und widerständige Handlungen, für die man bestraft werden kann.

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt Everyday Forms of Resistance finden Sie hier.

Anmeldung zum Zoom-Gespräch und zur Diskussion

Bitte melden Sie sich zum Zoom-Gespräch hier an: https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZcrdeuspjIiHND5xTBoZyN9DfTHv3SFQXgJ

Der Veranstaltung auf Vimeo im Live Stream folgen

Oder folgen Sie der Veranstaltung live auf Vimeo: https://vimeo.com/event/1636167

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

an Veranstaltung(en) beteiligt