Dez 10, 2020

»Nepantlas #05 Mutable Toolkit for Tranxxeno Becomings«

Online Event with Adriana Knouf in the framework of »Nepantlas: Infrastructure for World-building«

Date: Thu, Dec 10, 2020 14:00 Uhr

Location: Online

Info:

Curated by Daphne Dragona

Akademie Schloss Solitude - »Nepantlas #05 Mutable Toolkit for Tranxxeno Becomings«

Nepantlas #05 Mutable Toolkit for Tranxxeno Becomings
Adriana Knouf

Curated by Daphne Dragona
December 10, 2020, 2–3.30 pm (CET)

The tranxxeno are those entities both trans and xeno: those who exist in the interstitial spaces, who are in the process of transformation, who desire mutation into something other than their originary state. They utilize and repurpose the technoscientific capacities of the moment while simultaneously drawing upon ancient practices of self-experimentation. They look for allies across species and carbon boundaries. The tranxxeno shun the retrenchment of established, normative boundaries in times of crisis, and instead look for the small, obscured openings for ontopoiesis, or the reconfiguration of our ontologies through practices of making.

Drawing on techniques developed by the tranxxeno lab, this lecture-performance will outline a possible toolkit for forms of tranxxeno ontopoiesis. From experiences of multitemporal confusion, to vocal self-experimentation, the molecular jouissance of hormonal ingestion, radiophonic fragmentation, outer-space futurities, and multispecies entanglements, the presentation will offer enactments and invitations to participate. These techniques build upon, and learn from, the wisdom of trans-queer-feminist thought practices that incessantly and necessarily articulate other vibrant ways of thriving in damaged worlds. Throughout we will also be attuned to the difficulty of these techniques, the toll they take on us, the challenges of existing in continual processes of in-betweenness, the observations of what happens when contrasting worlds begin the difficult processes of merging.

Adriana Knouf, the facilitator of the event, will speak from her artistic research and personal forms of self-experimentation while also opening these practices to wider application.

»Nepantlas« is an online program curated by Daphne Dragona. It focuses on projects that introduce social and technological infrastructures based on relationships of care, respect, and interdependence. Adriana Knouf is the program’s fifth guest.

 

Registration

Prior registration is required to participate. More detailed instructions for the performance will be provided after the registration process.
Please register until December 8, 2020 with signup@akademie-solitude.de

Adriana Knouf, PhD, works as a xenologist, as an artist-scientist-writer-designer-engineer. She engages with topics such as wet media, space art, satellites, radio transmission, non-human encounters, drone flight, queer and trans futurities, machine learning, the voice, and papermaking. She is the Founding Facilitator of the tranxxeno lab, a nomadic artistic research laboratory that promotes entanglements among entities trans and xeno. Knouf regularly presents her artistic research around the world. She is currently a Biofriction artist-in-residence at the Kersnikova Institute in Ljubljana/Slovenia.

The anniversary activities of Akademie Schloss Solitude are supported by the Landesbank Baden-Württemberg Stiftung and the Wüstenrot Stiftung.

participated in

Dez 10, 2020

»Nepantlas #05 Mutable Toolkit for Tranxxeno Becomings«

Online Event mit Adriana Knouf im Rahmen der Reihe »Nepantlas: Infrastructure for World-building«

Datum: Do, Dez 10, 2020 14:00 Uhr

Ort: Online

Info:

Kuratiert von Daphne Dragona

Akademie Schloss Solitude - »Nepantlas #05 Mutable Toolkit for Tranxxeno Becomings«

Nepantlas #05 Mutable Toolkit for Tranxxeno Becomings
Adriana Knouf

Kuratiert von Daphne Dragona
10. Dezember 2020, 14–15.30 Uhr

Die tranxxeno sind jene Entitäten, die sowohl trans als auch xeno sind: jene, die in den Zwischenräumen existieren, sich im Prozess der Transformation befinden und sich eine Mutation in etwas anderes als ihren ursprünglichen Zustand wünschen. Sie nutzen die technowissenschaftlichen Fähigkeiten des Augenblicks, während sie gleichzeitig auf alte Praktiken des Selbstversuchs zurückgreifen. Die Suche nach Verbündeten geht über Arten- und Karbongrenzen hinweg. Die tranxxeno meiden in Krisenzeiten die Einschränkung etablierter, normativer Grenzen und suchen stattdessen nach den kleinen, verdunkelten Öffnungen für die Ontopoiesis oder die Rekonfiguration unserer Ontologien durch Praktiken des Machens.

 

Ausgehend von Techniken, die vom tranxxeno lab entwickelt wurden, wird diese Vortrags-Performance ein mögliches Hilfsmittel für Formen der tranxxeno-Ontopoiesis darstellen. Von Erfahrungen mit multitemporaler Verwirrung über vokale Selbstversuche, molekulare Jouissance der hormonellen Aufnahme, radiophone Fragmentierung, Weltraum-Zukünfte und artenübergreifende Verstrickungen wird die Performance verschiedene Inszenierungen und Einladungen zur Teilnahme bieten. Diese Techniken bauen auf der Weisheit trans-queer-feministischer Denkpraktiken auf, die unablässig und notwendigerweise andere lebendige Möglichkeiten des Gedeihens in zerstörten Welten artikulieren. Mit der Teilnahme an dem Online-Event wird man sich auf die Schwierigkeiten dieser Techniken einstellen, auf den Tribut, den sie von uns fordern, auf die Herausforderungen, die sich aus der Existenz in kontinuierlichen Prozessen des Dazwischenseins ergeben und auf die Beobachtungen dessen, was geschieht, wenn kontrastierende Welten die schwierigen Prozesse des Verschmelzens beginnen.

 

Adriana Knouf, die Moderatorin der Veranstaltung, wird aus ihrer künstlerischen Forschung und ihren persönlichen Formen des Selbstversuchs sprechen und diese Praktiken für eine breitere Anwendung öffnen.

»Nepantlas« ist ein von Daphne Dragona kuratiertes Online-Programm. Es konzentriert sich auf Projekte, die soziale und technologische Infrastrukturen einführen, die auf Beziehungen der Fürsorge, des Respekts und der Interdependenz beruhen. Adriana Knouf ist der fünfte Gast des Programms.

Registrierung

Für die Teilnahme ist eine Anmeldung im Voraus erforderlich. Detaillierte Anweisungen für das Event werden nach der Anmeldung zur Verfügung gestellt.
Bitte melden Sie sich bis zum 8. Dezember 2020 an:
signup@akademie-solitude.de

Alle Vorträge und Diskussionen im Rahmen der Reihe finden in englischer Sprache statt.

Adriana Knouf, ist promovierte Wisenschaftlerin und arbeitet als Xenologin, Künstlerin, Schriftstellerin, Designerin und Ingenieurin. Sie beschäftigt sich mit Themen wie nasse Medien, Weltraumkunst, Satelliten, Radioübertragung, nicht-menschliche Begegnungen, Drohnenflug, Queer- und Trans-Zukünfte, maschinelles Lernen, Stimme und Papierherstellung. Sie ist Gründerin des tranxxeno lab, einem nomadischen künstlerischen Forschungslabor, das Verstrickungen zwischen den Entitäten Trans und Xeno fördert. Knouf präsentiert ihre künstlerische Forschung regelmäßig auf der ganzen Welt. Gegenwärtig ist sie als Artist-in-Residence für Biofriction am Kersnikova-Institut in Ljubljana/Slowenien, tätig.

 

Die Jubiläums-Aktivitäten der Akademie Schloss Solitude werden gefördert durch die Baden-Württemberg Stiftung und die Wüstenrot Stiftung.

an Veranstaltung(en) beteiligt