The Artists Are Present – Artist residencies in cultural exchange

A digital symposium of the ADIR – Working Group of German International Residency Programs (Arbeitskreis Deutscher Internationaler Residenzprogramme)

Date: Wed, Jun 23, 2021 19:00 Uhr

Duration:

Location: Online

Design:

During the COVID-19 pandemic, residency programs for artists have proved their worth as highly effective and viable structures for international cultural and knowledge exchange. Particularly in this time of crisis, the enormous importance of international cooperation has become clear. In their role as laboratories prompting shifts in perspective, residency programs often serve as models for the question of how we want to live together.

Cultural and knowledge exchange thrives on polyphony and diversity. How can this be guaranteed in the long term? The presence of artists on site is essential to social and cultural interaction. How can the mobility of artists be preserved – even in times of crisis? What spaces are required to create social cohesion in times of sometimes radical change, and how can residency programs contribute to this?

The Working Group of German International Residency Programs (ADIR) invites you to a digital symposium on June 23, 2021, to discuss the future of international artistic exchange during and after the pandemic. After an opening statement by Minister of State Michelle Müntefering, Members of the German Bundestag Claudia Roth and Ursula Groden-Kranich, DJ and producer Sarah Farina and writer Deniz Utlu will explore forms of encounter required in future in conversation with ADIR speakers.

What is the impact of local presence on cultural exchange and social understanding? What are the benefits of formats of digital encounter, and how much personal contact does international dialogue need? How do we maintain protected spaces for artistic and creative thinking, action and research?

The digital symposium will be opened by Johannes Ebert, Secretary General of the Goethe-Institut and will include an initial address by Michelle Müntefering, Minister of State for International Cultural Policy at the Federal Foreign Office.

Vimeo

By loading the video, you accept Vimeo's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

The following individuals will be participating in a livestream discussion:

Claudia Roth, Member and Vice President of the German Bundestag and Chairwoman of the subcommittee on Foreign Cultural and Educational Policy
Ursula Groden-Kranich, Member of the German Bundestag and Chairwoman of the subcommittee on Foreign Cultural and Educational Policy
Deniz Utlu, writer and journalist, former fellow of Akademie Schloss Solitude and the Goethe-Institut
Sarah Farina, DJ and producer, Musicboard Berlin fellow in Detroit

The discussion will be moderated by the ADIR representatives:
Elke aus dem Moore, Director, Akademie Schloss Solitude
Silvia Fehrmann, Director, DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program
Stefan Hilterhaus, Artistic Director, PACT Zollverein Essen

The Working Group of German International Residency Programs (ADIR) unites representatives of around 20 institutions active in Germany and abroad. Residency programs for creative and cultural artists, media makers and scientists endorse and facilitate creative processes, productions and a sustainable dialogue through a shift in perspective.
Please visit www.kuenstlerresidenzen.de for further details on the ethos of ADIR and its members.

THE ARTISTS ARE PRESENT

Artist residencies in cultural exchange
June 23, 7–9:30 pm
Livestream available at: https://vimeo.com/545955519

Hashtag: #ADIR2021

The Artists Are Present – Künstlerresidenzen im Kulturaustausch

Ein digitales Symposium des ADIR – Arbeitskreis Deutscher Internationaler Residenzprogramme

Datum: Mi, Jun 23, 2021 19:00 Uhr

Dauer:

Ort: Online

Design: fertig design, Berlin

Während der Corona-Pandemie haben sich Residenzprogramme für Künstler*innen sehr bewährt und als tragfähige Strukturen des internationalen Kultur- und Wissensaustausches gezeigt. Gerade in dieser Krisenzeit ist die enorme Bedeutung internationaler Zusammenarbeit deutlich geworden. Als Labore für Perspektivwechsel wirken Residenzprogramme oft modellhaft in der Frage wie wir zusammenleben wollen.

Kultur- und Wissensaustausch lebt von Vielstimmigkeit und Diversität. Wie kann dieser langfristig garantiert werden? Die Präsenz von Künstler*innen vor Ort ist für Wechselwirkungen in Kultur und Gesellschaft unabdingbar. Wie kann die Mobilität von Kunstschaffenden – auch in Krisenzeiten – gewahrt werden? Welche Orte braucht es in Zeiten des Umbruchs für den gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt, und wie können Residenzprogramme ihren Beitrag dazu leisten?

Der Arbeitskreis Deutscher Internationaler Residenzprogramme (ADIR) lädt am 23. Juni 2021 mit einem digitalen Symposium dazu ein, über die Zukunft des internationalen künstlerischen Austausches nach beziehungsweise während der Pandemie zu diskutieren. Nach einem Eingangsstatement von Staatsministerin Michelle Müntefering erkunden MdB Claudia Roth und MdB Ursula Groden-Kranich, die DJ und Produzentin Sarah Farina und der Schriftsteller Deniz Utlu im Gespräch mit Sprecher*innen des ADIR, welche Formen der Begegnung wir künftig brauchen.

Was bedeutet Präsenz vor Ort für den Kulturaustausch und die gesellschaftliche Verständigung? Was bringen digitale Begegnungsformate, wieviel persönlichen Kontakt braucht der internationale Dialog? Wie erhalten wir geschützte Räume für künstlerisch-kreatives Denken, Handeln und Forschen?

Eröffnet wird das digitale Symposium von Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts und einem Eingangsstatement von Michelle Müntefering, Staatsministerin für Internationale Kulturpolitik im Auswärtigen Amt.

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

In einem Livestream diskutieren:

Claudia Roth MdB, Vizepräsidentin des Deutschen Bundestags und Obfrau im Unterausschuss »Auswärtige Kultur- und Bildungspolitik«,
Ursula Groden-Kranich MdB, Obfrau im Unterausschuss »Auswärtige Kultur und Bildungspolitik«,
Deniz Utlu, Schriftsteller und Journalist, ehemaliger Stipendiat der Akademie Schloss Solitude und des Goethe-Instituts,
Sarah Farina, DJ und Produzentin, Stipendiatin des Musicboard Berlin in Detroit,

moderiert von den Sprecher*innen des ADIR:

Elke aus dem Moore, Direktorin der Akademie Schloss Solitude,
Silvia Fehrmann, Leiterin des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD,
Stefan Hilterhaus, Künstlerischer Leiter PACT Zollverein Essen.

Im Arbeitskreis deutscher internationaler Residenzprogramme kommen Vertreter*innen von rund 20 Institutionen zusammen, die in der Bundesrepublik ebenso wie im Ausland wirken. Residenzprogramme für Künstler*innen, Kulturschaffende, Medienmacher*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen ermöglichen durch den Perspektivwechsel kreative Prozesse, Produktionen und einen nachhaltigen Dialog.

Zum Selbstverständnis des ADIR und seinen Mitgliedern: www.kuenstlerresidenzen.de

THE ARTISTS ARE PRESENT

Künstlerresidenzen im Kulturaustausch

23. Juni, 19–20:30 Uhr

Livestream unter: https://vimeo.com/545955519

Hashtag: #ADIR2021

an Veranstaltung(en) beteiligt