Nicolás Vizcaíno Sánchez

Field of Practice:

Cultural Journalism & Digital Media

City, Country:

Bogotá, Colombia

Year:

2022

Stay(s):

July 2022 - Nov 2022

Born in 1991.

Nicolás Vizcaíno Sánchez is an afro-descendant artist based in Bogotá/Colombia, whose work spans multimedia installations, critical writing, editorial practice and curatorial and socially engaged projects on the counter-narratives that distort and fight hegemonic power structures.

In 2019, he co-curated the exhibition Colombia 200 años in the Bogotá international book fair. He participated in the group show at EVA International Ireland’s biennial, in Limerick/Ireland, in 2018, and had his first gallery show Abrecaminos in Bogotá at Valenzuela Klenner. He also participated in other book fairs including the Art Book Fair in Bergen/Norway, and the Feira Plana in São Paulo/Brazil, in 2015. In the last five years his practice has addressed the relationship between art and political affairs, through work both on independent local projects and with institutions such as Colombia’s National Center for Historical Memory and the International Organization for Migration.

Recently, Nicolás was made a mentee within the C& magazine Mentoring Program. In 2018, he received a scholarship from the Los Andes Peruvian University (UPLA)/Peru, where he is currently completing an MA in history. He received two BA degrees in art and political science from the same institution in 2015.

Nicolás Vizcaíno Sánchez

Praxisfeld:

Kulturjournalismus

Stadt, Land:

Bogotá, Kolumbien

Jahrgang:

2022

Aufenthalt(e):

Juli 2022 - Nov 2022

Geboren 1991.

Nicolás Vizcaíno Sánchez ist ein Künstler aus Bogotá/Kolumbien mit afrikanischen Wurzeln. Mit verschiedenen Formaten, wie Multimedia-Installationen, kritischem Schreiben und redaktioneller Praxis bis hin zu kuratorischen und sozial engagierten Projekten arbeitet er an Gegennarrativen, die die hegemonialen Machtstrukturen verzerren und bekämpfen sollen.

2019 kuratierte er die Ausstellung 200 Jahre Kolumbien auf der internationalen Buchmesse in Bogotá mit. 2018 nahm er an der Gruppenausstellung auf der EVA International, der irischen Biennale in Limerick, teil und hatte seine erste Galerieausstellung Abrecaminos in Bogotá bei Valenzuela Klenner. Er nahm an redaktionellen Messen wie der Art Book Fair in Bergen/Norwegen und der Feira Plana in São Paulo/Brasilien im Jahr 2015 teil. In den letzten fünf Jahren verbindet sein Weg die Beziehung zwischen Kunst und politischen Angelegenheiten, indem er sowohl an unabhängigen lokalen Projekten, wie auch an Institutionen wie dem National Historical Memory Museum und der Internationalen Organisation für Migration arbeitet.

Vor Kurzem wurde Nicolás als Mentee im C& Magazine Mentoring-Programm ausgezeichnet und erhielt 2018 ein Stipendium der Universidad de Los Andes, wo er 2015 den Bachelor in Kunst und Politikwissenschaft erhielt und derzeit einen MA in Geschichte absolviert.