Raffaele Grimaldi

Field of Practice:

Music / Sound

City, Country:

France

Year:

2009, 2010, 2011

Born 1980 in Italy.

Raffaele Grimaldi works as a composer, pianist and conductor. He graduated in piano with Carmen Romano and composition with Lucia Ronchetti at the Conservatory of Music G. Martucci in Salerno with highest honors. At present he studies orchestra conduction, choral music and choir conduction, and takes master classes with Ivan Fedele at the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome.

Grimaldi has obtained a scholarship for his musicology activities at the Teatro di San Carlo in Naples. He was selected for the Atelier de Composition at the Centre Acanthes in Paris and Metz/France in 2007 (held by Michael Jarrell, Marco Stroppa and Yan Maresz), in 2008 (held by Salvatore Sciarrino) and in 2009 (held by Ivan Fedele, Hugues Dufourt and Bruno Mantovani). His new piece will be performed by the Neue Vokalsolisten Stuttgart. He has been selected by the IRCAM Reading Panel 2008 in Paris for the 2008/2009 course in composition and computer music, and has obtained a residency fellowship at the Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris.

Raffaele Grimaldi regularly plays piano both as soloist and with various formations, performing music of classical and contemporary authors as well as his own compositions. He has played in Rome, Milan, Naples, Barcelona, Paris, Vienna and Budapest.

His works have been recorded by the international publishing house Taukay, Radio Rai 3 and Raitrade in Rome. Recently, he has been selected (chairman Helmut Lachenmann) to compete for the Toru Takemitsu International Award 2009 in Tokyo. His symphonic work will be performed by the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra.

selected by

participated in

Raffaele Grimaldi

Praxisfeld:

Musik / Klang

Stadt, Land:

Frankreich

Jahrgang:

2010, 2009, 2011

Aufenthalt(e):

Okt 2010 - Juni 2011

Geboren 1980 in Italien.

Raffaele Grimaldi arbeitet als Komponist, Pianist und Dirigent. Er studierte Klavier bei Carmen Romano und Komposition bei Lucia Ronchetti am Konservatorium G. Martucci in Salerno und schloss sein Studium mit höchsten Auszeichnungen ab. Derzeit studiert er Orchesterleitung, Chormusik und –leitung und gehört zur Meisterklasse von Ivan Fedele an der Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom.

Für seine musikwissenschaftliche Tätigkeit am Teatro di San Carlo in Neapel erhielt Grimaldi ein Stipendium. Er wurde 2007, 2008 und 2009 für das Atelier de Composition des Centre Acanthes in Paris und Metz/Frankreich ausgewählt, 2007 geleitet von Michael Jarrell, Marco Stroppa und Yan Maresz, 2008 geleitet von Salvatore Sciarrino und 2009 von Ivan Fedele, Hugues Dufourt und Bruno Mantovani. Sein neues Stück wird von den Neuen Vokalsolisten Stuttgart aufgeführt. Er wurde vom IRCAM Reading Panel 2008 in Paris für den Kurs in Komposition und Computermusik für 2008/2009 ausgewählt und erhielt ein Stipendium an der Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris.

Raffaele Grimaldi tritt regelmäßig als Klaviersolist und mit verschiedenen Formationen auf, mit denen er Werke klassischer und zeitgenössischer Komponisten sowie eigene Kompositionen spielt. Er spielte bereits in Rom, Mailand, Neapel, Barcelona, Wien und Budapest.

Seine Arbeiten wurden von dem internationalen Verlag Taukay, von Radio Rai 3 und Raitrade in Rom aufgenommen. Kürzlich wurde er ausgewählt (Juryvorsitzender Helmut Lachenmann), am Toru Takemitsu International Award 2009 in Tokio teilzunehmen. Seine sinfonische Arbeit wird vom Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra aufgeführt.