Sajan Mani

Field of Practice:

Visual

Fellowship:

Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

Kannur, India

Berlin, Germany

Year:

2020, 2021

Website(s):

https://sajanmani.com

Sajan Mani, photo: Billie Clarken

Born in Kannur/India in 1981.

Sajan Mani is an intersectional artist hailing from a family of rubber tappers in a remote village in the northern part of Keralam/India. Sajan’s work voices the issues raised by the marginalized societies of India, with the help of the ›Black Dalit body‹ of the artist. Mani’s performance practice insists upon embodied presence, confronting pain, shame, fear, and power. His personal tryst with his body as a meeting point of history and present opens onto ›body‹ as socio-political metaphor.

Several of Mani’s performances employ the element of water to address ecological issues particularly related to the backwaters of Keralam, as well as to the common theme of migration. His recent works consider the correspondence between animals and humans, and the politics of space from the perspective of an indigenous cosmology. His work Unlearning Lessons from my Father (2018), made with the support of the Asia Art Archive, excavates the artist’s biography in relation to colonial history, botany, and material relations.

Sajan Mani has performed at the Srinagar Bienniale Basel/Switzerland (2018), at Specters of Communism – A Festival on the Revolutionary Century at the museum Haus der Kunst, Munich/Germany (2017), at Musrara Mix Festival, Jerusalem/Israel (2017), Kampala Art Bienniale, Kampala/Uganda (2016), Dhaka Art Summit, Dhaka/Bangladesh (2016), Sensorium-Sunaparanta Center for Arts, Goa/India (2016), Kolkata International Performance Arts Festival, Kolkata/India (2015) and at the Vancouver Bienniale, Vancouver/Canada (2014). He has participated in various residencies including New Art Exchange, Nottingham/UK, Delfina Foundation, London/UK and Heritage Hotel Art Spaces, Goa/India.

Mani is a recipient of the Braunschweig Projects scholarship from the Braunschweig University of Art (2019–2020) and his work has been shortlisted for the Lucas Artists Program scholarship at Montalvo Arts Center, Sartoga/USA, among other fellowships. In 2021, Sajan Mani received the Berlin Art Prize in the visual arts section.

Sajan Mani, photo: Billie Clarken

Sajan Mani

Praxisfeld:

Visuell

Stipendium:

Solitude-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

Kannur, Indien

Berlin, Deutschland

Jahrgang:

2020, 2021

Aufenthalt(e):

Apr 2021 - Dez 2021

Website(s):

https://sajanmani.com

Sajan Mani, photo: Billie Clarken

Geboren 1981 in Kannur/Indien.

Sajan Mani ist ein intersektionaler Künstler, der aus einer Familie von Kautschukzapfern in einem abgelegenen Dorf im nördlichen Teil Keralams, Südindien, stammt. Mit seiner Arbeit will Mani den marginalisierten Gesellschaften Indiens eine Stimme geben und nimmt sich ihrer Probleme an – mit Hilfe des ›Schwarzen Dalitkörpers‹ des Künstlers selbst. Manis Performance-Praxis beharrt auf einer verkörperten Präsenz, die die Konfrontation mit Schmerz, Scham, Angst und Stärke sucht. In diesen Momenten persönlicher Rendezvous mit seinem eigenen Körper treffen Geschichte und Gegenwart aufeinander und eröffnen ›den Körper‹ als sozio-politische Metapher.

Einige von Sajan Manis Performances greifen auf das Element des Wassers zurück, um auf ökologische Themen anzuspielen, die in spezifischer Weise mit den Staugewässern in Keralam in Verbindung stehen, sowie auch auf das allgemeine Thema Migration. Seine jüngsten Arbeiten beschäftigen sich mit einer möglichen Korrespondenz zwischen Tieren und Menschen und mit der Politik des Raums aus der Perspektive einer indigenen Kosmologie. Manis Arbeit Unlearning Lessons from my Father (2018) wurde mit Unterstützung des Asia Art Archive umgesetzt und legt die Biografie des Künstlers in Verbindung mit kolonialer Geschichte, Botanik und Materialrelationen frei.

Sajan Mani performte bereits auf der Srinagar Biennale, Basel/Schweiz (2018), beim Specters of Communism – A Festival on the Revolutionary Century im Haus der Kunst in München (2017), beim Musrara Mix Festival, Jerusalem/Israel (2017), auf der Kampala Art Biennale, Kampala/Uganda (2016), der Dhaka Art Summit, Dhaka/Bangladesch (2016), im Sensorium-Sunaparanta Center for Arts, Goa/Indien (2016), beim Kolkata International Performance Arts Festival, Kalkutta/Indien (2015) und auf der Vancouver Biennale, Vancouver/Kanada (2014). Er nahm außerdem an mehreren Residenzprogrammen teil wie New Art Exchange, Nottingham/UK, Delfina Foundation, London/UK und Heritage Hotel Art Spaces, Goa/Indien.

Sajan Mani war Braunschweig Projects-Stipendiat an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig (HBK) von 2019 bis 2020 und ist in der engeren Auswahl des Lucas Artists Program-Stipendiums am Montalvo Arts Center, Sartoga/USA unter weiteren Stipendien. 2021 wurde ihm der Kunstpreis Berlin in der Sektion Bildende Kunst verliehen.

Sajan Mani, photo: Billie Clarken