Sofia Lomba

Field of Practice:

Visual

Fellowship:

Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

Berlin, Deutschland

Year:

2020, 2021

Stay(s):

Jan 2022 - June 2022

Born in Porto/Portugal in 1984.

Sofia Lomba’s artistic practice forms itself inside, outside, around and about the body. Reflecting on processes of transformation and binary structures, she accepts these constraints by resisting them. In an endless process of variation and repetition, she creates series of drawings giving way to landscapes that weave between scientific taxonomy and imaginary speculation. Vaginas turning into volcanos turning into vulvae turning into clitorides turning into penises. Hybrids between plant and human, vegetable and flesh.

Sofia Lomba holds a diploma in fine arts from the Faculdade de Belas Artes da Universidade do Porto/Portugal (2009). She studied dance at the Balleteatro and the Escola de Dança do Porto (2000–2010) and taught Tai Chi and Shaolin Kung Fu at the Chinese Martial Arts Academy, also in Porto (2013–2015). She was awarded the Inov-Art grant by DGArtes Portugal for an internship in Berlin/Germany (2010).

Besides her extensive drawing expertise, she is a drummer and a performer. In 2018, Lomba’s series of drawings, Spongy Bodies,was shown in TIER.space in Berlin. Since 2015, she has collaborated with Discoteca Flaming Star, performed for the camera in Ingrid(2003–present), presented at Ausland (2019) and Hamburger Bahnhof (2018) among others and performed live in IngridLandscape Leewayat Savvy Contemporary (2018) in Berlin. Lomba collaborated with Graw Böckler on the great puddle, which was presented at CTM Festival at Berghain Panorama Bar (2016), and with Wojciech Kosma as part of The Familyin the performance Princessesat Galerie Kamm in Berlin (2012).

Sofia Lomba

Praxisfeld:

Visuell

Stipendium:

Solitude-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

Berlin, Deutschland

Jahrgang:

2020, 2021

Aufenthalt(e):

Jan 2022 - Juni 2022

Geboren 1984 in Porto/Portugal.

 

Sofia Lombas künstlerische Praxis formt sich im Innen, Außen, um und über den Körper. In einem endlosen Prozess der Variation und Wiederholung schafft sie Serien von Zeichnungen, aus denen Landschaften zwischen wissenschaftlicher Taxonomie und imaginärer Spekulation entstehen. Vaginas, die sich in Vulkane verwandeln, die sich in Vulven verwandeln, die sich in Klitorides verwandeln, die sich in Penisse verwandeln. Hybriden zwischen Pflanzen und Menschen, Gemüse und Fleisch.

Sie studierte bildende Künste an der Faculdade de Belas Artes da Universidade do Porto (Diplom, 2009), Tanz am Balleteatro und an der Escola de Dança in Porto (2000–2010) sowie Tai Chi und Shaolin Kung Fu an der Chinese Martial Arts Academy, Porto (2013–2015). 2010 erhielt sie ein INOV-Art-Stipendium der DGArtes Portugal für ein Praktikum in Berlin.

Ihre Zeichnungen Spongy Bodies wurden im TIER – The Institute for Endotic Research, Berlin/Deutschland (2018), ausgestellt. Neben ihrer umfangreichen künstlerischen Arbeit ist sie auch als Schlagzeugerin und Performerin tätig. Seit 2015 arbeitet sie regelmäßig mit Discoteca Flaming Star zusammen und wirkte an verschiedenen Projekten mit, darunter Ingrid (seit 2013), zu sehen bei ausland, Berlin (2019), sowie im Hamburger Bahnhof (2018), undIngrid – Landscape Leeway, Savvy Contemporary, Berlin (Live-Performance). Darüber hinaus war sie beteiligt an der Videoarbeit the great puddle vonGraw Böckler, präsentiert auf dem CTM Festival 2016 in der Panorama Bar des Berghain, und der Performance von Wojciech Kosma Princesses im Rahmen von The Family, Galerie Kamm, Berlin (2012).