Jeffrey Treviño


Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

San Diego, CA, United States


Aug 2007 - Aug 2007

Born in 1983 in Los Angeles, CA/USA.

Treviño graduated 2005 with a Bachelor’s degree in Music, Science and Technology from Stanford University, where he studied composition with Mark Applebaum and Brian Ferneyhough. He is currently undertaking doctoral studies in music composition at the University of California, San Diego, where he studies with Rand Steiger, Roger Reynolds, and Philippe Manoury.

As accomplished pianist and tubist he has performed in world class venues such as Carnegie Hall, the Sheldonian Theatre, and the Sydney Opera House. In 2005, Treviño debuted the SCUBA, a robotically augmented concert tuba, at the International Conference on New Interfaces for Musical Expression in Vancouver/Canada.

As a musicologist, Treviño has received fellowships from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the American Musicological Society in support of his work on Hollywood film and cartoon music, composer Charles Ives, and on the philosophies of musical expression in contemporary instrument design.

As a pedagogue, he has engineered Hellenic heritage educational software as part of the founding team at Cyllenius Educational Research and has designed curricula for the Chabot Space and Science Center’s Advanced Robotics summer program for children, where he was also instrumental in the creation of the summer program in Electronic Music.

Recent composition commissions have come from the University of California and Berkeley Graduate Program in Media Studies, the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic Arts, the Center for the Interdisciplinary Study of Music at the University of California at Santa Barbara, and the Arditti String Quartet, with notable premieres at the International Computer Music Conference (Miami, 2004; New Orleans, 2006), New York City’s Symphony Space (2006), SIGGRAPH (2007), Visiones Sonoras (Mexico, 2007), and the Seoul International Computer Music Festival (2007).

Selected pieces: »Forty-two Statcoulombs« for string quartet (2007); »Substitute Judgment+Metal Catalogue« for solo multi-percussion and integrated, synchronized video (2006); »Eight Legs Each« for amplified tuba and two prerecorded amplified tubas (2004). Treviño was awarded the University of California’s Eugene V. Cota-Robles Fellowship.