July 19, 2021

tinyMONDAY: »Mutations in Urban Development: Fungi as a Societal Agents and Generators of Ideas«

Date: July 19, 2021, 19:00 Uhr

Duration: July 19, 2021

Location: Online via Zoom

Info:

Please register here

 

Design: Stegmeyer Fischer Creative Studio

KfW Stiftung collaborates with the initiative tinyBE. living in a sculpture and contributes in cooperation with Akademie Schloss Solitude to the programme with the conception of a tinyMONDAY. Within this framework, observations from the discursive program of Mutations will be further developed.

With the title Mutations in Urban Development: Fungi as a Societal Agents and Generators of Ideas, Maxwell Mutanda (designer, scientist and artist/Zimbabwe, and fellow of the thematic residency Mutations at Akademie Schloss Solitude) will discuss with Prof. Dr. Vera Meyer (biotechnologist and artist, TU Berlin) and Prof. Sven Pfeiffer (architect and designer, HS Bochum) from MY-CO-X:

The potential of fungi is widely underestimated – as uncontrollable collaborators, they provide highly developed structures and thus open up practical and theoretical spaces for new conceptions. In fungal biotechnology, they have become research objects for sustainable building materials and at the same time help shape artistic experiments. What is the significance of fungi as a source of ideas for a sustainable and at the same time innovative future? And what perspectives do artistic impulses offer on scientific questions?

A conversation on the multifaceted significance of fungi, in which experts from art, architecture, biodiversity and science meet.

tinyBE
Starting point for the conversation is the habitable sculpture MY-CO Space, which was constructed from a new type of building material based on fungal cultures and will be installed in Metzlerpark in Frankfurt am Main from 26 June to 26 September 2021. The habitable sculpture designed by the MY-CO-X collective questions what and how humans can learn from fungal cultures, networks, and architects. The interdisciplinary collaboration makes possible an artistic-scientific examination of the future societal importance of fungi (Lat. mycota) for the creation of places and spaces. For those who are interested, it is possible to book an overnight accommodation or a short stay in the sculpture. You can find more information here.

Maxwell Mutanda is a multidisciplinary researcher, visual artist and designer who uses meticulously detailed collages and architectural practice to create sustainable participatory design. He is a co-founder of the design research firm Studio [D] Tale which explores social and environmental issues across disciplines including architecture, urban transit, migration and product innovation.  maxwellmutanda.com

The artist collective MY-CO-X, founded by Prof. Dr. Vera Meyer (TU Berlin) and Prof. Sven Pfeiffer (HS Bochum), has been working together since 2020. The biotechnologist and the architect – along with eight other artists, fungal biotechnologists, and designers – create works that bring scientific and biotechnological research together with art- and design-based experiments. The collective acts as a constructive and critical provider of ideas and communicator of scientific questions in the field of art. Flora, fauna, and funga constitute the most advanced organisms on our planet – form and define them. Fungi as the active agents of humans together with plants could have future applications as a sustainable raw materials for use in both art and everyday life.

participated in

Juli 19, 2021

tinyMONDAY: »Mutationen in der Stadtentwicklung: Pilze als gesellschaftliche Akteure und Ideengeber«

Datum: Juli 19, 2021, 19:00 Uhr

Dauer: Juli 19, 2021

Ort: Online via Zoom

Info:

Zur Registrierung für die Veranstaltung geht es hier

Design: Stegmeyer Fischer Creative Studio

Die KfW Stiftung kooperiert mit der Initiative tinyBE − Living in a Sculpture und beteiligt sich mit der Gestaltung eines tinyMONDAYS in Kooperation mit der Akademie Schloss Solitude. Dafür werden inhaltliche Überlegungen aus dem diskursiven Programm im Rahmen des Projekts Mutationen mit der Akademie Schloss Solitude weiterentwickelt.

Unter dem Titel Mutationen in der Stadtentwicklung: Der Pilz als gesellschaftlicher Akteur und Ideengeber diskutiert Maxwell Mutanda (Designer, Wissenschaftler und Künstler, Simbabwe, und Stipendiat der Akademie im Programm Mutationen) mit Prof. Dr. Vera Meyer (Biotechnologin und Künstlerin, TU Berlin) und Sven Pfeiffer (Architekt und Designer, HS Bochum) vom Kollektiv MY-CO-X:

Das Potenzial von Pilzen wird weithin unterschätzt – als unkontrollierbarer Kollaborateur geben sie hoch entwickelte Strukturen vor und öffnen damit Spiel- und Denkräume für neue Konzeptionen. In den Pilzbiotechnologien sind sie Forschungsgegenstand für nachhaltige Baustoffe geworden und gestalten zugleich künstlerische Experimente mit. Welche Bedeutung haben Pilze als Ideengeber für eine nachhaltige und zugleich innovative Zukunft? Und welche Perspektiven öffnen künstlerische Impulse auf wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen?

Ein Gespräch zur vielseitigen Bedeutung der Pilze, in dem sich Expertisen aus Kunst, Architektur, Biodiversität und Wissenschaft begegnen.

tinyBE
Ausgangspunkt des Gesprächs ist die bewohnbare Skulptur MY-CO SPACE, die aus einem neuartigen Baustoff von Pilzkulturen errichtet wurde und vom 26. Juni bis 26. September 2021 im Metzlerpark in Frankfurt am Main installiert wird. Das Projekt des Kollektivs MY-CO-X hinterfragt, was und wie wir Menschen von pilzlichen Kulturen, Netzwerken und Architekturen lernen können. Das interdisziplinäre Gemeinschaftswerk ermöglicht eine künstlerisch-wissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung über eine zukünftige gesellschaftliche Bedeutung von Pilzen (lat. mycota) für die Erschaffung von Orten und Räumen. Interessierte können eine Übernachtung oder einen kurzen Aufenthalt in der Skulptur buchen. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie hier.

Maxwell Mutanda ist multidisziplinärer Forscher, bildender Künstler und Designer. Er verbindet akribisch-detaillierte Collagen und architektonische Praxis, um nachhaltiges partizipatorisches Design zu schaffen. Er ist Mitbegründer des Designforschungsbüros Studio [D] Tale, das sich disziplinenübergreifend mit sozialen und ökologischen Fragen befasst, darunter Architektur, städtischer Nahverkehr, Migration und Produktinnovation. maxwellmutanda.com

Das Kollektiv MY-CO-X, gegründet von Prof. Dr. Vera Meyer (TU Berlin) und Prof. Sven Pfeiffer (HS Bochum) arbeitet seit 2020 zusammen. Die Biotechnologin und der Architekt sowie acht weitere Künstler*innen, Pilzbiotechnolog*innen und Designer*innen verbinden in ihren Werken naturwissenschaftliche und biotechnologische Forschung mit künstlerischen und designbasierten Experimenten. Das Kollektiv agiert als konstruktiver und kritischer Ideengeber und Kommunikator wissenschaftlicher Fragestellungen im Kunstfeld. Flora, Fauna und Funga bilden die am weitest entwickelten Organismen auf unserer Erde, formen und bestimmen diese. Pilze als aktive Agenten des Menschen und rein pflanzliches Material könnten zukünftig sowohl im Kunst – als auch im alltäglichen Bereich als nachhaltige Rohstoffe eingesetzt werden.

an Veranstaltung(en) beteiligt