Aline Xavier Mineiro

Field of Practice:

Visual

Fellowship:

Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Year:

2020, 2021

Stay(s):

Apr 2022 - Sept 2022

Born in Belo Horizonte/Brazil in 1984.

Aline Xavier Mineiro is an artist and filmmaker working in a variety of media, including video, photography, sculpture, and installation. Starting from ideas of proximity and interference, she activates networks of people and places in her practice, intersecting art-making with other knowledge fields such as cultural heritage and personal and collective memory. Her interest in contemporary sociopolitical issues seeks to dismantle received logic and hierarchies, destabilizing hegemonic practices and paradigms to foster alternative critical and creative perspectives.

After graduating with a degree in social communication and cinema from the Federal University of Minas Gerais/Brazil, she studied contemporary art: curatorship and criticism at the Inhotim Art Institute and the Pontifical Catholic University of Minas Gerais. She is part of the network of emerging filmmakers Berlinale Talents and was a fellow at the Flaherty Seminar in the US.

Aline Xavier Mineiro is the recipient of many prestigious awards, including the Prêmio Foco Bradesco ArtRio and the 19th Videobrasil Art Prize. She has also participated in various arts residencies, including Instituto Sacatar (Brazil), Skissernas Museum (Sweden), Thami Mniele (Netherlands), Kooshk Residency (Iran) and was a guest artist at the Central Saint Martins Performance Lab at SESC 24 (Brazil).

Her works have been exhibited in museums and at art venues and film festivals, including Refazenda: Banquete Boa Esperança at the Inhotim Art Institute/Brazil, Mulheres na Coleção do MAR at the Museu de Arte do Rio/Brazil, Somos Muitxs at Solar dos Abacaxis/Brazil, Bienal de Arte Digital at Oi Futuro Flamengo, the Museu de Arte da Pampulha/Brazil and Mostra de Cinema de Tiradente/Brazil, Conversas em Gondwana at Centro Cultural São Paulo/Brazil, Tell Freedom at Kunsthal Kade/Netherlands, Exhibition Match at A4 Arts Foundation and Line in The Sand at the Zeitz Museum/South Africa.

She is the founder of the experimental cinema and art studio 88 Arte (2006–present) and is a former member and co-founder of Brazil’s first independent art and technology lab Marginalia+Lab (2009–2012).

Aline Xavier Mineiro

Praxisfeld:

Visuell

Stipendium:

Solitude-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

Belo Horizonte, Brasilien

Jahrgang:

2020, 2021

Aufenthalt(e):

Apr 2022 - Juli 2022

März 2023 - Mai 2023

Geboren 1984 in Belo Horizonte/Brasilien.

Aline Xavier Mineiro ist eine Künstlerin und Filmemacherin, die mit einer Vielzahl von Medien arbeitet, darunter Video, Fotografie, Skulptur und Installation. Ausgehend von Ideen der Nähe und Interferenz aktiviert sie in ihrer Praxis Netzwerke von Menschen und Orten und verbindet das Kunstschaffen mit anderen Wissensgebieten und Themenkomplexen wie dem kulturellen Erbe und dem persönlichen und kollektiven Gedächtnis. Ihr Interesse an zeitgenössischen soziopolitischen Fragen zielt darauf ab, bestehende Logiken und Hierarchien aufzubrechen und hegemoniale Praktiken und Paradigmen zu destabilisieren, um alternative kritische und kreative Perspektiven zu fördern.

Nach ihrem Abschluss in Sozialer Kommunikation und Film an der Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais/Brasilien studierte sie zeitgenössische Kunst: Kuratieren und Kritik am Instituto Inhotim, Brumadinho/Brasilien, und der Pontifícia Universidade Católica de Minas Gerais. Sie ist Mitglied des Netzwerks Berlinale Talents und war Stipendiatin des Flaherty Seminars in den USA.

Ihre Arbeit wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet, darunter mit dem den Prêmio Foco Bradesco ArtRio und den 19. Videobrasil Art Prize. Sie nahm bereits an verschiedenen Artist-in-Residency-Programmen teil, unter anderem am Instituto Sacatar, Itaparica/Brasilien, am Skissernas Museum, Lund/Schweden, an der Thami Mnyele Foundation, Amsterdam/Niederlande, und an der Kooshk Residency, Teheran/Iran, und war Gastkünstlerin im Rahmen des Central Saint Martins Performance Lab am SESC 24, São Paulo/Brasilien.

Ihre Werke waren in zahlreichen Ausstellungen, auf Kunstbiennalen und Filmfestivals zu sehen, darunter: Refazenda: Banquete Boa Esperança, Instituto Inhotim, Mulheres na Coleção do MAR, Museu de Arte do Rio, Rio de Janeiro/Brasilien, Somos Muitxs, Solar dos Abacaxis, Rio de Janeiro, Bienal de Arte Digital, Oi Futuro Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, und Museu de Arte da Pampulha, Belo Horizonte/Brasilien, Mostra de Cinema de Tiradentes/Brasilien, Conversas em Gondwana, Centro Cultural São Paulo, Tell Freedom, Kunsthal KadE, Amersfoort/Niederlande, Exhibition Match, A4 Arts Foundation, Kapstadt/Südafrika, und Line in the Sand, Zeitz Museum, Kapstadt.

Sie ist die Gründerin des experimentellen Kino- und Kunststudios 88 Arte (seit 2006) und ehemaliges Mitglied und Mitbegründerin des ersten unabhängigen brasilianischen Kunst- und Technologielabors Marginalia+Lab (2009–2012).