Banu Çiçek Tülü

Fellowship:

Namibia fellowship

City, Country:

Berlin, Germany

Adana, Turkey

Year:

2021

Born in Adana/Turkey in 1984.

Banu Çiçek Tülü is a Berlin-based artist, researcher and DJ with a background in urban design originally from south-east Turkey. Her ideas and research are based primarily in sound and sonic methodologies. Her practice-based artistic approach involves participation, social design, ecology, feminist and queer theory and draws on the artistic, cultural and political imagination as a tool for social change. The process of artistic production is key to her work, which is presented predominantly as multi-channel video and sound installations, sculptural elements and diverse other objects.

Her recent fellowships include IdeasCity, New Orleans/USA, an initiative of The New Museum, New York/USA (2019), Sound of Our Cities, Roeselare/Belgium, organized by Idensitat/Spain with the Creative Europe Program (2020) and the Ankara Queer Art Residency (2021) organized by Kaos GL (Ankara/Turkey) and supported by SAHA Association (Istanbul/Turkey).

Banu Çiçek Tülü received an MA from the University of Barcelona/Spain, faculty of Fine Arts (2011), subsequently completing an independent study program at MACBA (Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art) (2012). She is currently a PhD candidate at the HFBK Hamburg/Germany (University of Fine Arts of Hamburg) and the recipient of a fellowship from the Heinrich Böll Foundation. She has held the position of lecturer at the Humboldt University in Berlin/Germany since 2018. She is involved with different activist groups in Germany, developing her political engagement as a BA student in Istanbul (2003–2009).

Banu Çiçek Tülü

Stipendium:

Namibia-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

Berlin, Deutschland

Adana, Türkei

Geboren 1984 in Adana/Türkei.

Banu Çiçek Tülü ist Künstlerin, Forscherin und DJ mit einem Hintergrund in urbanem Design. Sie stammt aus der Südosttürkei und lebt in Berlin. Sie entwickelt ihre Ideen und Forschungen, indem sie Klang als primäres Medium sowie klangliche Methodologien einsetzt. Ihr praxisbasierter künstlerischer Ansatz beinhaltet Partizipation, soziales Design, Ökologie, feministische Theorie und Queer-Theorie, die künstlerische, kulturelle und politische Vorstellungskraft als Werkzeuge für sozialen Wandel einsetzt. Entscheidend ist dabei der Prozess der künstlerischen Produktion, der meist in Form von Mehrkanal-Videos und Klanginstallationen, skulpturalen Elementen und verschiedenen Objekten präsentiert wird.

Zu den jüngsten Stipendien, die Tülü wahrgenommen hat, gehören IdeasCity New Orleans/USA, eine Initiative von The New Museum, New York/USA (2019); Sound of Our Cities Roeselare/Belgien, organisiert von Idensitat/Spanien zusammen mit dem Creative Europe Program (2020); Ankara Queer Art Residency (2021) von Kaos GL, Ankara/Türkei unterstützt von SAHA Association, Istanbul/Türkei.

Banu Çiçek Tülü schloss ihren MA zunächst an der Universität Barcelona an der Fakultät für Bildende Kunst (2011), später im Rahmen des Independent Study Program am Contemporary Art Museum Barcelona (2012) ab. Zurzeit ist sie Doktorandin an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg und wird von der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung gefördert. Seit 2018 ist sie Lehrbeauftragte an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Politisch engagiert ist sie bereits seit ihrem Bachelor-Studium in Istanbul (2003–2009). Seitdem sie in Deutschland lebt setzt sie dieses Engagement fort und arbeitet mit verschiedenen Gruppen von Aktivist*innen zusammen.