Martín Valdés-Stauber

Fellowship:

Marie Zimmermann fellowship

City, Country:

Munich, Germany

Year:

2022

Stay(s):

July 2022 - July 2022

Sept 2022 - Sept 2022

Martín Valdés-Stauber studied sociology and economics in Munich/Germany, Friedrichshafen/Germany and Berkeley/USA. After completing a Research Master’s Program at the University of Cambridge specializing in flight and migration, he took up a post as dramatic adviser at the Münchner Kammerspiele theater company in 2017, which was voted Theater of the Year in 2019 and 2020 under the artistic direction of Matthias Lilienthal. Since 2020, Martín Valdés-Stauber has also been an honorary representative for an open society in his home town of Kaufbeuren/Germany. His artistic working relationships include those with Rabih Mroué, Marlene Monteiro Freitas, Prodromos Tsinikoris, Philipe Quesne, Rimini Protokoll (Stefan Kaegi), Marco Layera and Milo Rau, among others.

In his capacity as a sociologist and dramatic adviser, Martín Valdés-Stauber is concerned with the interrelationship of artistic, literary and sociological knowledge within urban spaces. In 2020, he initiated the Shadow Security Conference at the Münchner Kammerspiele, also curating a School of Resistance at the Akademie der Künste, Berlin/Germany in 2021. As part of his work on international constellations, an artistic sisterhood is being created between Ukraine and Munich since 2020.

Martín Valdés-Stauber has been exploring the biographies of employees of the Münchner Kammerspiele who were persecuted under the Nazi regime in the long-term project SCHICKSALE since 2018. He has headed the theater’s artistic research field Memory as Work on the Present since 2021.

Martín Valdés-Stauber

Stipendium:

Marie-Zimmermann-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

München, Deutschland

Jahrgang:

2022

Aufenthalt(e):

Juli 2022 - Juli 2022

Sept 2022 - Sept 2022

Martín Valdés-Stauber studierte Soziologie und Wirtschaftswissenschaften in München, Friedrichshafen und Berkeley. Nach einem Forschungsmaster an der University of Cambridge zu Fragen von Flucht und Migration wurde er 2017 Dramaturg an den Münchner Kammerspielen, die unter der Intendanz von Matthias Lilienthal 2019 und 2020 zum Theater des Jahres gewählt wurden. Seit 2020 ist Martín Valdés-Stauber zudem ehrenamtlich Beauftragter für Offene Gesellschaft in seiner Heimatstadt Kaufbeuren. Künstlerische Arbeitsbeziehungen verbinden ihn unter anderem mit Rabih Mroué, Marlene Monteiro Freitas, Prodromos Tsinikoris, Philipe Quesne, Rimini Protokoll (Stefan Kaegi), Marco Layera und Milo Rau.
Als Soziologe und Dramaturg befasst sich Martín Valdés-Stauber mit der Verschränkung von künstlerischem, literarischem und soziologischem Wissen über die Stadt. 2020 initiierte er die Shadow Security Conference an den Münchner Kammerspielen und kuratierte 2021 an der Akademie der Künste, Berlin eine School of Resistance. Im Rahmen seiner Arbeit an internationalen Konstellationen entsteht gegenwärtig eine künstlerische Sisterhood zwischen der Ukraine und München.
Seit 2018 erkundet Martín Valdés-Stauber im Langzeitprojekt SCHICKSALE die Biografien der im NS-Regime verfolgten Mitarbeiter*innen der Münchner Kammerspiele. Seit 2021 leitet er dort den künstlerischen Forschungsbereich Erinnerung als Arbeit an der Gegenwart.