Molly Joyce

Field of Practice:

Aural & Physical

Fellowship:

Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

Year:

2020, 2021

Stay(s):

July 2022 - Mar 2023

Born in Pittsburgh/USA in 1992.

Molly Joyce is a composer and performer based in Pittsburgh/USA. Her music has been described as one of »serene power« (New York Times), written to »superb effect« (The Wire), and »impassioned« (The Washington Post). Her works have been commissioned and performed by a number of Symphony Orchestras (New World, New York Youth, Pittsburgh, Albany, and Milwaukee) and by the New Juilliard, Decoda and Contemporaneous ensembles.

Additionally, her work has been presented at TEDxMidAtlantic, Bang on a Can Marathon, Classical:NEXT, VisionIntoArt’s FERUS Festival, and featured in outlets such as Pitchfork, Red Bull Radio, WNYC’s New Sounds, I Care If You Listen, National Sawdust Log, and Disability Arts Online. Molly often sings and plays with her vintage toy organ; an instrument she bought on eBay and loves for how it engages with her disabled left hand. Her debut solo album Breaking and Entering was released in 2020 on New Amsterdam Records.

Molly has received fellowships and residencies at Halcyon Arts Lab and Headlands Center for the Arts among others, has studied at The Juilliard School, New York/USA (2010–2014), at the Koninklijk Conservatorium Den Haag/Netherlands (2014–2015), and at the Yale School of Music, New Haven/USA (2015–2017).

Molly Joyce

Praxisfeld:

Auditiv & Physisch

Stipendium:

Solitude-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

Jahrgang:

2020, 2021

Aufenthalt(e):

Juli 2022 - März 2023

Geboren 1992 in Pittsburgh/USA.

Molly Joyce ist Komponistin und Performerin. Über ihre Musik heißt es, sie habe »heitere Kraft« (New York Times), sei für »großartige Wirkung« geschrieben (The Wire) und »leidenschaftlich« (The Washington Post). Ihre Werke wurden von Symphonieorchestern (New World, New York Youth, Pittsburgh, Albany und Milwaukee) sowie Ensembles (New Juilliard, Decoda, Contemporaneous) in Auftrag gegeben und aufgeführt.

Darüber hinaus wurden ihre Arbeiten bereits auf zahlreichen Festivals und Veranstaltungen, wie TEDxMidAtlantic, Bang on a Can Marathon, Classical:NEXT, VisionIntoArts FERUS Festival, sowie auf Pitchfork, Red Bull Radio, WNYC’s New Sounds, I Care If You Listen, National Sawdust Log und Disability Arts Online präsentiert. Sie singt und spielt oft mit ihrer Vintage-Spielzeugorgel, einem Instrument, das sie auf eBay gekauft hat und besonders liebt, da es mit ihrer linken Hand, die bei einem Unfall verletzt wurde, so gut harmoniert. Ihr Debüt-Soloalbum Breaking and Entering wurde 2020 bei New Amsterdam Records veröffentlicht.

Sie hat an der Juilliard School, New York/USA (2010–2014), am Koninklijk Conservatorium Den Haag/Niederlande (2014–2015) sowie an der Yale School of Music, New Haven/USA (2015–2017), studiert und war Stipendiatin des Halcyon Arts Lab, Washington, D. C./USA, und des Headlands Center for the Arts, Sausalito/USA.