Ofili Ebube Sett

Field of Practice:

Digital

Fellowship:

Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

Nigeria

Year:

2020, 2021

Born 1985 in Nigeria.
Ofili Ebube Sett is a technical artist specializing in video games and virtual reality art. In 2018, he earned his BA in education from the University of Lagos/Nigeria.

Sett pursues an interdisciplinary practice as an artist, computer programmer, entrepreneur, researcher and guidance counselor. He is passionate about the use of digital arts to educate, modify behavior and promote mental well-being.

In 2017, Sett was awarded a Tony Elumelu entrepreneurship fellowship by the Tony Elumelu Foundation, the leading champion of entrepreneurship in Africa. He was also a finalist at Africa’s key digital arts competition, Digital Lab Africa (2018). In 2019, he was a fellow of UNLEASH, an international innovation lab that sources global talents to disrupt conventional solutions and create a better and more sustainable world, where he worked and studied at the China National GeneBank, which aims to enable the sharing of genetic data and resources to advance the development of life sciences and the bio-economy.

His current work uses role-playing video games and virtual reality technology to immerse the audience in a journey exploring genetic mutation and the culture of the south-east and south-south region of pre-colonial Nigeria. The aim of the project is to reduce the stigma and uncertainty associated with genetic mutations in African society.

Ofili Ebube Sett

Praxisfeld:

Digital

Stipendium:

Solitude-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

Nigeria

Jahrgang:

2020, 2021

Aufenthalt(e):

Jan 2022 - Juni 2022

Geboren 1985 in Nigeria.

Ofili Ebube Sett ist Künstler (Schwerpunkt Videospiele und virtuelle Realität). Seinen BA in Bildungswissenschaften absolvierte er an der University of Lagos/Nigeria (2018).

In seiner interdisziplinären Praxis als Künstler, Programmierer, Unternehmer, Forscher und Berater gilt sein besonderes Interesse dem Einsatz von digitaler Kunst in der Bildung sowie ihrem Einfluss auf das menschliche Verhalten und geistige Wohlbefinden.

Er war Stipendiat des Entrepreneurship-Programms der Tony-Elumelu-Stiftung (2017), eines großen Unternehmer*innennetzwerks in Afrika, und einer der Finalisten des bedeutenden Wettbewerbs für digitale Kunst Digital Lab Africa (2018). 2019 war er Stipendiat des internationalen innovativen Labors UNLEASH, das weltweit Talente sucht, um gemeinsam konventionelle Lösungen zu hinterfragen und eine bessere und nachhaltigere Welt zu schaffen. Während eines Stipendiums im Winter 2019 arbeitete er bei der China National GeneBank, deren Ziel die gemeinsame Nutzung von genetischen Daten und Ressourcen ist, um die Entwicklung der Biowissenschaften und Bioökonomie voranzutreiben.

In seiner aktuellen Arbeit, die auf Computerrollenspielen und Virtual-Reality-Technologien aufbaut, wird das Publikum auf eine virtuelle Reise zur Erforschung genetischer Mutationen und der Kultur der Regionen des südöstlichen und südlichen präkolonialen Nigeria geschickt. Intention des Projekts ist es, dem Stigma und der Unsicherheit, die mit genetischen Mutationen in der afrikanischen Gesellschaft assoziiert werden, entgegenzuwirken.