Sebastian Klawiter

Field of Practice:

Spatial

Fellowship:

Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

Stuttgart, Germany

Year:

2020, 2021

Born in Starnberg/Germany in 1985.

Sebastian Klawiter is a master carpenter. After completing his apprenticeship, he received a BA in interior design from the University of Applied Sciences Coburg/Germany and an MA in architecture from the State Academy of Fine Arts Stuttgart/Germany. In his works, he thematizes and designs collaborative uses and design processes at different levels of scale at the intersection of crafts, architecture, urban planning and art.

With Hanna Noller and a group of young designers, he initiated the award-winning non-profit association Stadtlücken e.V. in 2015. With the development and application of the Stadtlücken (Gaps in the City) strategy, the collective has, among other projects, laid the foundations for the Urbanes Experimentierfeld Österreichischer Platz (an urban experimental field), and inspired the further development and participatory process of the Church of St. Maria in Stuttgart.

In the winter semester of 2019/2020, he and Hanna Noller acted as temporary professors of the class of architectural design at the State Academy of Fine Arts Stuttgart. Since 2016, Sebastian Klawiter has been working in research and teaching at the Institute for Urban Planning and Design at the University of Stuttgart, the Stuttgart Technology University of Applied Sciences and the State Academy of Fine Arts Stuttgart. In June 2018, Sebastian Klawiter and Hanna Noller took over the coordination of the research project Future City Lab – Reallabor für nachhaltige Mobilitätskultur (Real-world laboratory for sustainable mobility culture). As part of the Akademie Schloss Solitude fellowship, they investigate how experiences from temporary projects can be implemented in the context of long-term cooperative urban development under the heading Von temporär zu legendär (From temporary to legendary).

Sebastian Klawiter

Praxisfeld:

Räumlich

Stipendium:

Solitude-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

Stuttgart, Deutschland

Jahrgang:

2020, 2021

Aufenthalt(e):

Okt 2020 - Feb 2021

Geboren 1985 in Starnberg/Deutschland.

Sebastian Klawiter ist Schreinermeister. Nach seiner Ausbildung studierte er Innenarchitektur (BA) an der Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften Coburg/Deutschland und Architektur (MA) an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart/Deutschland. In seinen Arbeiten thematisiert und entwirft er auf unterschiedlichen Maßstabsebenen kooperative Nutzungen und Gestaltungsprozesse im Grenzbereich zwischen Handwerk, Architektur, Stadtplanung und Kunst.

Gemeinsam mit einer Gruppe von jungen Gestalter*innen initiierte er gemeinsam mit Hanna Noller 2015 den mehrfach ausgezeichneten gemeinnützigen Verein Stadtlücken e. V.. Mit der Entwicklung und Anwendung der Stadtlücken-Strategie hat das Kollektiv u.a. den Grundstein für das Urbane Experimentierfeld Österreichischer Platz sowie den Weiterentwicklungs- und Beteiligungsprozess der Kirche St. Maria in Stuttgart gelegt.

Im Wintersemester 2019/2020 vertrat er gemeinsam mit Hanna Noller die Professur der Klasse für Entwerfen an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart. Seit 2016 arbeitet Sebastian Klawiter in der Forschung und Lehre am Städtebau-Institut der Universität Stuttgart, an der Hochschule für Technik Stuttgart sowie an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart. Im Juni 2018 übernahmen Sebastian Klawiter und Hanna Noller die Leitung des Forschungsprojekts Future City Lab – Reallabor für nachhaltige Mobilitätskultur. Im Rahmen des Stipendiums der Akademie Schloss Solitude untersuchen sie unter dem Titel Von temporär zu legendär, wie Erfahrungen aus temporären Projekten in eine langfristige kooperative Stadtentwicklung implementiert werden können.