Sept 24 – 25, 2020

»Late Summer Research – Laboratories for collaborative artistic research«

Date: Thu, Sep 24, 2020 19:00 Uhr

Duration: Sept 24 – 25, 2020

Location: Theater Rampe

Location: Projektraum Römerstraße 2A

Akademie Schloss Solitude - »Late Summer Research – Laboratories for collaborative artistic research«

Credit: Astrid S. Klein

Artistic research combines transdisciplinary collaboration, artistic methods of practice and aesthetic forms of expression, in order to create new modes of knowledge and to incorporate them into society. Together with the artists Astrid S. Klein and Herbordt/Mohren, Akademie Schloss Solitude invites you to the opening event of the newly founded Baden-Württemberg regional group of the Society for Artistic Research in Germany (GKFD).

In participatory engagements, open laboratories and workshops, the artists together with the audience and guests will address the following topics: decentralization, endurance and entanglement (Astrid S. Klein/quartier flottant); hybrid junctures of exchange and new techniques of anticipation (EXP.edition, Demian BernElena Morena Weber & guests); the post- and nonhuman as a new way of interacting with nature, technology and our human existence (Ecosystems of Knowledge-Working Group/Akademie Schloss Solitude); as well as performative art research with collections and in archives as a practice of institutional critique (Die Institution, Herbordt/Mohren).

Program

Thursday, September 24, 2020
Theater Rampe

7.00 pm

Welcome

Astrid S. Klein, Herbordt/Mohren, Elke aus dem Moore 

7.15 pm

Keynote »Gaps and Excesses: Interventions into the colonial archive«

by Eva Knopf, followed by a screening of her film »Majub’s Journey«

In her lecture, the filmmaker and film theorist will speak about her research-based artistic practice in colonial and postcolonial archives that led to her film »Majub’s Journey.«

Friday, September 25, 2020
Project space Römerstraße 2A

10.00 am

»Re-Thinking Archives – On Lost Knowledge, Imagined Institutions and Historiographical Gaps«

Lab I with
Herbordt/Mohren, Viviana González Méndez, Azadeh Sharifi

In a collaborative working, gaps of archives will be examined and strategies developed to intervene in their institutional structures and work with hidden or lost knowledge: historic Latin American textile spaces, images and maps, the lost knowledge of the landscape they represent and the invention of new ones (Viviana González Méndez); archival documents of never realized proposals for the foundation of new research institutes at the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gesellschaft respectively Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (Herbordt/Mohren); and the urgency for an archive of post migrant theater as a result of a decolonial perspective on given archives is formulated (Azadeh Sharifi).

12.30 pm

Lunch

1.30 pm

»doing entanglements through endurance«

Lab II with Annette Krauss, Ferdiansyah Thajib and Astrid S. Klein

If endurance is neither resilience nor survival, but »a means of continuing to continue not attributable to some inner force or underlying proposition,« how can we foster the capacity to endure, the capacity to connect with and entangle oneself in »seemingly dissonant experiences or ways of doing things, and which are without confident translations« (Abdoumaleq Simone, 2012)? Departing from this question and offering some additional terms derived from looking at intertwinements of their practices, Annette Krauss, Ferdiansyah Thajib and Astrid S. Klein invite to narrate further intersections.

3.30 pm

Coffee break

4.00 pm

The last two labs of the day by EXP.edition and the Ecosystems of Knowledge-Working Group will invite you to a synergetic space of experience of artistic research: Outside we will explore techniques of sensory perception for poetizing the body and its context. Afterwards we will come together for an open discussion to talk about concepts of the non- und posthuman in our project space at Römerstraße and in cyberspace.

 

»Re-coding Anticipation. A Micro-EXP.edition«

Lab III with the EXP.edition (Demian Bern, Elena Morena Weber and guests)

In a two-hour course, the laboratory simulates situations that are developed and used in the artistic research format of EXP.editions. Together with Elena Morena Weber, Demian Bern and guests, the participants will use a terrain in the south of Stuttgart for micro-field research. The combination of individual expertise and collective intelligence will be tested here, as well as strategies for poetizing the surrounding space, the use of the body as a space probe. We recommend wearing comfortable clothing and shoes – we will be moving around outdoors – and bring a cell phone.

 

»Encounters with the Non- and Posthuman«

Lab IV with the Ecosystems of Knowledge-Working Group (Aouefa Amoussouvi, Hemal Naik and guests)

In the form of an open dialog the group invites you to discuss different forms of the non- and posthuman and your experiences with it. What does it mean to be human? Which knowledge can the environment and other living and non-living creatures teach us? We will also examine how the development of technology expands the capacities of mankind both positively and negatively and how it questions the definition of nature.

You can take part online as well at the Römerstraße project space. To attend online, we will send a link after you have registered.

7.00 pm

Dinner & Drinks

The numbers of participants for each laboratory is limited. To attend the event, please register until September 22, 2020 with Sophia Sadzakov: s.sadzakov@akademie-solitude.de

With contributions by: Aouefa Amoussouvi, Marcus G. Bergmann, Demian BernAriel BustamanteSasha Engelmann, Viviana González MéndezHerbordt/Mohren, Astrid S. Klein, Eva Knopf, Christine Koschel, Annette Krauss, Hemal Naik, Christina Maria Pfeifer, Ferdiansyah Thajib/KUNCI Study Forum & Collective, Azadeh Sharifi, Elena Morena Weber

The event will take place in English.

In cooperation with Theater Rampe. The project is funded by the Ministry for Science, Research and the Arts Baden-Württemberg as part of the »Culture Summer 2020« program.

Sept 24 – 25, 2020

»Late Summer Research – Labore kollaborativer künstlerischer Forschung«

Datum: Do, Sep 24, 2020 19:00 Uhr

Dauer: Sept 24 – 25, 2020

Ort: Theater Rampe

Ort: Projektraum Römerstraße 2A

Akademie Schloss Solitude - »Late Summer Research – Labore kollaborativer künstlerischer Forschung«

Credit: Astrid S. Klein

Künstlerische Forschung verbindet transdisziplinäre Kollaboration, künstlerische Arbeitsweisen und ästhetische Darstellungsformen, um neue Formen des Wissens herzustellen und sie gesellschaftlich zu verankern. Gemeinsam mit den Künstler*innen Astrid S. Klein und Herbordt/Mohren, lädt die Akademie Schloss Solitude zur Auftaktveranstaltung der 2019 gegründeten Regionalgruppe Baden-Württemberg der Gesellschaft für künstlerische Forschung in Deutschland (GKFD) ein.

In partizipativen Auseinandersetzungen, offenen Laboren und Workshops werden sich die Künstler*innen gemeinsam mit dem Publikum und Gästen folgenden Themen widmen: Dezentrierung, Ausdauer (endurance) und Verwicklung (Astrid S. Klein/quartier flottant); hybride Treffpunkte des Austauschs und neue Methoden der Antizipation (EXP.edition, Demian BernElena Morena Weber & Gäste); das Post- und Nichthumane als neuer Umgang des Menschen mit Natur, Technik und unserem menschlichen Dasein (Ecosystems of Knowledge-Working Group/Akademie Schloss Solitude); sowie der performativen Kunstforschung mit Sammlungen und in Archiven als institutionenkritische Praxis (Die Institution, Herbordt/Mohren).

Programm

Donnerstag, 24. September 2020
Theater Rampe

19.00 Uhr

Begrüßung

Astrid S. Klein, Herbordt/Mohren, Elke aus dem Moore 

19.15 Uhr

Keynote »Gaps and Excesses: Interventions into the colonial archive«

von Eva Knopf mit anschließendem Screening des Films »Majub’s Reise«

In ihrem Vortrag wird die Filmwissenschaftlerin und Filmemacherin Eva Knopf über ihre forschungsbasierte künstlerische Praxis in kolonialen und postkolonialen Archiven sprechen, die sie zu ihrem Film »Majub’s Reise« geführt haben.

Freitag, 25. September 2020
Projektraum Römerstraße 2A

10.00 Uhr

»Archive neu denken – über verlorenes Wissen, imaginierte Institutionen und historiographische Lücken«

Lab I mit Herbordt/Mohren, Viviana González Méndez, Azadeh Sharifi

In einer kollaborativen Arbeitssituation werden Lücken von Archiven untersucht und Strategien entwickelt, wie in ihre institutionalisierten Strukturen interveniert und verborgenes oder verloren gegangenes Wissen herausgearbeitet werden kann: historische, lateinamerikanische Textil-Räume, Bilder und Karten als verlorenes Wissen jener Landschaft, die sie repräsentieren (Viviana González Méndez), Archivdokumente nie realisierter Vorschläge für die Gründung neuer Forschungsinstitute an der Kaiser-Wilhelm- bzw. Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (Herbordt/Mohren), sowie die – in einer dekolonialen Perspektive auf vorhandene Archive – dringlich gewordene Notwendigkeit eines Archivs für postmigrantisches Theater (Azadeh Sharifi).

12.30 Uhr

Mittagessen

13.30 Uhr

»Verwicklungen durch Ausdauer erzeugen«

Lab II mit Annette Krauss, Ferdiansyah Thajib und Astrid S. Klein

Wenn Ausdauer weder Belastbarkeit noch Überleben ist, sondern »ein Mittel zum Weitermachen, das nicht einer inneren Kraft oder einer zugrundeliegenden Haltung zuzuschreiben ist«, wie können wir dann die Fähigkeit zum Aushalten stärken, die Fähigkeit, sich mit »scheinbar dissonanten Erfahrungen oder Handlungsweisen, die ohne sichere Übersetzungen sind« (Abdoumaleq Simone, 2012), zu verbinden und sich darin zu verwickeln? Annette Krauss, Ferdiansyah Thajib und Astrid S. Klein gehen von dieser Frage aus und bieten einige zusätzliche Begriffe an, die sich aus den Verflechtungen ihrer Praktiken ergeben, und laden dazu ein, weitere Überschneidungen zu erzählen.

15.30 Uhr

Pause

16.00 Uhr

Die beiden letzten Labore des Tages von EXP.edition und der Ecosystems of Knowledge-Working Group laden in einen synergetischen Erfahrungsraum künstlerischer Forschung: Im Außenraum untersuchen wir Techniken der Sinneswahrnehmung zur Poetisierung von Körper und Kontext und kommen dann in einem offenen Dialog  zu Konzepten des Nicht- und Posthumanen wieder in der Römerstraße und im Cyberspace zusammen.

 

»Re-coding Anticipation. Eine Micro-EXP.edition«
Lab III mit der EXP.edition (Demian Bern, Elena Morena Weber und Gästen)

In einem zweistündigen Parcours simuliert das Labor Situationen, die im künstlerischen Forschungsformat der EXP.edition entwickelt und eingesetzt werden. Gemeinsam mit Elena Morena Weber, Demian Bern und Gästen werden die Teilnehmer*innen ein Terrain im Stuttgarter Süden für eine Micro-Feldforschung nutzen. Die Verknüpfung individueller Expertise und kollektiver Intelligenzen werden hier ebenso erprobt wie Strategien zur Poetisierung des Umraums, als Einsatz des Körpers als Raumsonde. Wir empfehlen komfortable Kleidung und Schuhe zu tragen – wir werden uns im Außenraum bewegen – sowie ein Mobiltelefon mitzubringen.

 

»Begegnungen mit dem Nicht- und Posthumanen«

Lab IV mit der Ecosystems of Knowledge-Working Group (Aouefa Amoussouvi, Hemal Naik und Gästen)

In Form eines offenes Gesprächs lädt die Gruppe dazu ein, gemeinsam die verschiedenen Formen des Nicht- und Posthumanen und die eigenen Erfahrungen mit dem Thema zu diskutieren. Was heißt es, menschlich zu sein? Welches Wissen können uns Umwelt und andere lebende und nicht-lebende Wesen lehren? Wie kann Technologieentwicklung die Kapazitäten der Menschheit sowohl positiv als auch negativ erweitert und somit die Definition von Natur neu in Frage stellen?

 

An dem Lab kann sowohl online als auch in der Römerstraße teilgenommen werden.

Für eine Online-Beteiligung wird nach Anmeldung ein Link verschickt.

19.00 Uhr

Ausklang mit Abendessen & Getränken

Die Teilnehmerzahl für die Labore ist begrenzt. Die Teilnahme der gesamten Veranstaltung ist nur mit Anmeldung möglich bis zum 22. September 2020 bei Sophia Sadzakov, s.sadzakov@akademie-solitude.de.

Beteiligte Künstler*innen: Aouefa Amoussouvi, Marcus G. Bergmann, Demian BernAriel BustamanteSasha Engelmann, Viviana González Méndez, Herbordt/Mohren, Astrid S. Klein, Eva Knopf, Christine Koschel, Annette Krauss, Hemal Naik,Christina Maria Pfeifer, Ferdiansyah Thajib/KUNCI Study Forum & Collective, Azadeh Sharifi, Elena Morena Weber

Die Veranstaltung findet in englischer Sprache statt.

In Kooperation mit dem Theater Rampe. Das Projekt wird gefördert vom Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg im Rahmen des Programms »Kultur Sommer 2020«.