Sasha Engelmann

Field of Practice:

Scientific

Fellowship:

Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

London, United Kingdom

Year:

2020, 2021

Akademie Schloss Solitude - Sasha Engelmann

Born 1988 in Santa Monica/USA.

Sasha Hildegard Engelmann is a geographer, researcher and artist exploring and initiating collective encounters with weather, atmosphere, and the elements. She received her undergraduate degrees (2011) in earth systems science and English literature from Stanford University/USA, and her MA (2011–2013) and PhD (2013–2017) in geography and environment from the University of Oxford/UK.

Since completing her doctoral dissertation based on a three-year collaboration with Studio Tomás Saraceno in Berlin/Germany, she has become an active member of the Aerocene community. More recently, she developed a body of work exploring the embodiment of weather forecasting through amateur radio, which includes a series of performances and workshops called Satellite Séances.

In 2019, she co-led the first GeoHumanities Summer School in Bude/UK, investigating practices and ethics of listening in the shadow of a government surveillance station.

Her writing has been published in a variety of journals, news media, and print publications. Her book Nomadic Encounters in Geography, Art and the Elements will be published by Routledge in 2020. She is currently a lecturer in GeoHumanities in the Department of Geography at Royal Holloway, University of London/UK, where she convenes the Landscape Surgery seminar series and co-directs the GeoHumanities Creative Commissions program.

Akademie Schloss Solitude - Sasha Engelmann

Sasha Engelmann

Praxisfeld:

Wissenschaftlich

Stipendium:

Solitude-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

London, Großbritannien

Jahrgang:

2020, 2021

Aufenthalt(e):

Apr 2020 - Dez 2020

Akademie Schloss Solitude - Sasha Engelmann

Geboren 1988 in Santa Monica/USA.

Sasha Hildegard Engelmann ist Geografin aus London/Großbritannien. Sie arbeitet im kreativ-künstlerischen Bereich und untersucht die Poetik und Politik von Luft. Ihren BA absolvierte sie in Earth Science sowie in Englischer und Französischer Literatur an der Stanford University/USA (2011) und ihren MPhil (2011­–2013), ihre Promotion (2013–2017) in Geografie und Umweltwissenschaften an der University of Oxford/Großbritannien.

Nach ihrer Dissertation, die auf einer langjährigen Zusammenarbeit mit dem Studio Tomás Saraceno in Berlin/Deutschland basiert, wurde sie aktives Mitglied der Aerocene Community. In jüngerer Zeit entwickelte sie gemeinsam mit Designerin Sophie Dyer das künstlerische Forschungsprojekt Open Weather, welches die Beziehung zwischen Körper, Atmosphäre und Wettersystemen mithilfe von Experimenten in Amateurfunk, Open Data und feministischen Taktiken untersucht.

2019 war sie Co-Leiterin der ersten GeoHumanities Summer School in Bude, Cornwall/Großbritannien, in der Fragen der Ethik und Praxis des (Ab-)Hörens im Rahmen einer staatlichen Überwachungsstation nachgegangen wurde.

Sie publizierte in verschiedenen Zeitschriften, Online- und Printmedien. Ihr Buch Sensing Art in the Atmosphere: Elemental Lures and Aerosolar Practices erscheint 2020 bei Routledge. Aktuell ist sie Dozentin für GeoHumanities an der Fakultät für Geografie der Royal Holloway, University of London/Großbritannien, wo sie die Landscape-Surgery-Seminarreihe leitet und das GeoHumanities Creative Commissions Program organisiert.

Akademie Schloss Solitude - Sasha Engelmann