Dez 16, 2020

»Transformation – Unfolding the Future«

»Where Do You Wander Alone?« with Raqs Media Collective

Date: Dez 16, 2020, 16:00 Uhr

Duration: Dez 16, 2020

Location: Here Online

Online lecture and workshop series »Transformation — Unfolding the Future«

The online lecture series »Transformation – Unfolding the Future« will be crowned with Raqs Media Collective in December!

Since December 2, 2020, 7 pm you can find the video lecture »Where Do You Wander Alone?« by Raqs Media Collective, on our Vimeo channel. In a live conversation on December 16, 2020, 4 pm, you will have the opportunity to talk directly with Jeebesh Bagchi, Monica Narula and Shuddhabrata Sengupta. The talk will be hosted by current fellows Olivia Berkowicz and Viktorija Šiaulytė.

For the live conversation with Raqs Media Collective on Wednesday, December 16, 2020, at 4 pm, advance reservation is required. Please register at: register@akademie-solitude.de
There is a limited number of participants.

Raqs Media Collective: »Where Do You Wander Alone?«

Video lecture: from Wednesday, December 2, 2020, 7 pm (CET)
Online conversation: Wednesday, December 16, 2020, 4 pm (CET), hosted by Olivia Berkowicz and Viktorija Šiaulytė

In »Where Do You Wander Alone?« Raqs Media Collective reads the poetry of robots and rebel princesses, thinks from the vantage point of deep time and deep space, and considers transformations in thinking, feeling, living and acting.

While doing this, Raqs recognize the elusive primacy of insubstantial »nothing« as a binding principle between objects and awareness. Their insistence on this primacy of nothingness is not an admission of ontological failure or epistemic collapse; rather it is a recognition of the fact that what binds one thing to another cannot be easily named, marked, or numbered. This radical uncertainty can be an occasion, not for the paralysis of awareness, but for transformative joy. Then, the question »Where Do You Wander Alone?« can be seen for what it is – a signpost marking a moment of expanding sentience in an unfolding cosmic adventure

Vimeo

By loading the video, you accept Vimeo's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Vimeo

By loading the video, you accept Vimeo's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Raqs Media Collective was formed in 1992 by Jeebesh Bagchi, Monica Narula and Shuddhabrata Sengupta. The word »raqs« in several languages denotes an intensification of awareness and presence attained by whirling, turning, being in a state of revolution. Raqs Media Collective take this sense to mean »kinetic contemplation« and a restless and energetic entanglement with the world, and with time. Raqs enlists objects such as an early-modern tiger-automata from Southern India, or a biscuit from the Paris Commune, or a cup salvaged from an ancient Mediterranean shipwreck, to turn them into devices to sniff and taste time. Devices are deployed in order to undertake historical subterfuge and fabulist adventures. Raqs practices across several media; making installation, sculpture, video, performance, text, lexica, and curation. Their work finds them at the intersection of contemporary art, philosophical speculation and historical enquiry.

The members of Raqs Media Collective live and work in Delhi/India. In 2001, they co-founded the Sarai program at CSDS New Delhi and ran it for a decade, where they also edited the Sarai Reader series. They have shown extensively globally, as well as curated numerous exhibitions, including the Shanghai Biennale 2016, »Why Not Ask Again?«. They were the Artistic Directors for the recently-concluded Yokohama Triennale 2020, »Afterglow«, where they developed sources around toxicity, care, and the luminosity of friendship, with artists, and publics.

Kindly supported by

Baden-Württemberg Stiftung Logo 2020

»Transformation – Unfolding the Future«

»Where Do You Wander Alone?« mit Raqs Media Collective

Datum: Mi, Dez 16, 2020 16:00 Uhr

Dauer:

Ort: Hier Online

Online-Vortrags- und Workshopreihe »Transformation – Unfolding the Future«

Die Online-Lecture-Series »Transformation – Unfolding the Future« erhält mit Raqs Media Collective im Dezember ihren krönenden Abschluss!

Seit dem 2. Dezember 2020, 19 Uhr  finden Sie den Video-Vortrag »Where Do You Wander Alone?« des RAQS Media Collective auf unserem Vimeo-Kanal und hier auf der Website. In einem Live-Gespräch am 16. Dezember 2020, 16 Uhr sprechen Jeebesh Bagchi, Monica Narula und Shuddhabrata Sengupta über ihre Thesen und stehen dem Publikum für Fragen zur Verfügung. Der Abend wird von den Stipendiatinnen Olivia Berkowicz und Viktorija Šiaulytė moderiert.
Die Vorträge und Diskussionen finden in englischer Sprache statt.

Für das Live-Gespräch mit Raqs Media Collective am Mittwoch, den 16. Dezember 2020, um 16 Uhr, ist eine Voranmeldung notwendig. Bitte melden Sie sich an unter: register@akademie-solitude.de

Die Teilnehmeranzahl ist begrenzt.

Raqs Media Collective: »Where Do You Wander Alone?«

Video-Vortrag: abrufbar seit Mittwoch, 2. Dezember 2020, 19 Uhr
Online-Live-Gespräch: Mittwoch, 16. Dezember 2020, 16 Uhr, moderiert von Olivia Berkowicz und Viktorija Siaulyte

In »Where Do You Wander Alone?« liest das Raqs Media Collective Gedichte von Robotern und Rebellenprinzessinnen, überlegt aus der Perspektive der Tiefenzeit und des Weltraums und betrachtet Transformationen im Denken, Fühlen, Leben und Handeln.

Den schwer fassbaren Vorrang des immateriellen »Nichts« versteht Raqs dabei als ein bindendes Prinzip zwischen Objekten und Bewusstsein. Das Beharren auf diesem Vorrang des Nichts ist kein Eingeständnis ontologischen Versagens oder epistemischen Zusammenbruchs; es ist vielmehr eine Anerkennung der Tatsache, dass das, was ein Ding an ein anderes bindet, nicht einfach benannt, gekennzeichnet oder nummeriert werden kann. Nicht für die Paralyse des Bewusstseins, sondern für die transformative Freude kann diese radikale Ungewissheit ein Anlass sein. Dann stellt sich die Frage »Where Do You Wander Alone?« als das heraus, was sie ist – ein Wegweiser, der einen Moment der Erweiterung des Gefühls in einem sich entfaltenden kosmischen Abenteuer markiert.

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Raqs Media Collective wurde 1992 von Jeebesh Bagchi, Monica Narula und Shuddhabrata Sengupta gegründet. Das Wort »raqs« steht in mehreren Sprachen für eine Intensivierung des Bewusstseins und der Wahrnehmung, die durch Wirbeln, Drehen und den Zustand der Revolution erreicht wird. Raqs Media Collective versteht darunter »kinetische Kontemplation« und eine rastlose und energische Verstrickung mit der Welt und der Zeit. Objekte wie ein frühneuzeitlicher Tiger-Automaten aus Südindien, ein Keks aus der Pariser Kommune oder eine Tasse, die aus einem Schiffswrack im Mittelmeer geborgen wurde, nutzt Raqs, um sie in Geräte zu verwandeln, mit denen man Zeit riechen und schmecken kann. Die Geräte werden für historische Täuschungsmanöver und fabelhafte Abenteuer eingesetzt. Raqs praktiziert mit verschiedenen Medien wie Installationen, Skulpturen, Videos, Performances, Texte, Lexika und Kurationen. Ihre Arbeit findet an der Schnittstelle von zeitgenössischer Kunst, philosophischer Spekulation und historischer Untersuchung statt.

Die Mitglieder des Raqs Media Collective leben und arbeiten in Delhi/Indien. Im Jahr 2001 waren sie Mitbegründer*innen des Sarai-Programms bei CSDS Neu-Delhi. Sie leiteten es über ein Jahrzehnt lang und gaben dort die Reihe Sarai Reader heraus. Sie haben zahlreiche Ausstellungen weltweit kuratiert, darunter die Shanghai Biennale 2016 Why Not Ask Again?. Sie waren die Künstlerischen Direktor*innen der kürzlich abgeschlossenen Yokohama Triennale 2020 Afterglow wo sie mit Künstler*innen und der Öffentlichkeit Themen wie Toxizität, Fürsorge und die Leuchtkraft von Freundschaft entwickelten.

Die Jubiläumsaktivitäten der Akademie Schloss Solitude werden gefördert von