Olivia Berkowicz

Field of Practice:

Societal/Communal-based Work

Fellowship:

Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

Stockholm, Sweden

Year:

2020, 2021

Born in Göteborg/Sweden in 1990.

Olivia Berkowicz is a curator, writer and editor. She works at the intersection of critical visuality studies and contemporary art theory, manifesting itself in work on memory, translocality and alternative solidarities. Her previous studies include an MA in curatorial studies (2016) and a BA in History of Art (2013), at Stockholm University/Sweden and Goldsmiths College, University of London/UK respectively.

Together with Marianna Feher, she is the organizer and curator of Tentative Transmits (2020–2022), a discursive radio project investigating the »former East« supported by an artistic research grant from the Royal Institute of Art in Stockholm and Stockholm City culture fund. From 2020 to 2021, Berkowicz and Carla Garlaschi (aka Princess Prada) are working towards a reiteration of the happening Quinceañera, which reflects on regional pop choreographies and queer liminality as forms of dissident gatherings.

She is a founding member of the interdisciplinary collective resina, which investigates notions of care, ecofeminism and informal learning environments. She is also a founder of Ferrara Residency, an international residency program in Ferrara/Italy. Since 2017, artists and researchers have been invited to explore forms of togetherness while reflecting on means of precarious and affective labor under capitalist conditions.

In recent years, she has worked as curator and producer at Grafikens Hus, Södertälje/Sweden (2019–2020), at Sörmland Museum, Nyköping/Sweden (2018–2019), at The Living History Forum, Stockholm (2018), and The Royal Institute of Art, Stockholm (2017).

Olivia Berkowicz

Praxisfeld:

Gesellschaftlich/Gemeinschaftlich

Stipendium:

Solitude-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

Stockholm, Schweden

Jahrgang:

2020, 2021

Aufenthalt(e):

Okt 2020 - Juni 2021

Geboren 1990 in Göteborg/Schweden.

Olivia Berkowicz ist Kuratorin, Autorin und Redakteurin. Sie arbeitet an den Schnitstellen von Critical Visuality und zeitgenössischer Kunsttheorie, die sich in Arbeiten zur Erinnerung, Translokalität und alternativen Verbundenheiten manifestiert. Ihren Bachelor in Kunstgeschichte absolvierte sie am Goldsmiths College der University of London/Großbritannien (2013) und ihren Master in Curatorial Studies an der Universität Stockholm/Schweden (2016).

Gemeinsam mit Marianna Feher organisierte und kuratierte Berkowicz das diskursive Radioprojekt Tentative Transmits(2020-2022), das den »früheren Osten« untersucht. Das Projekt wird durch den künstlerischen Forschungszuschuss des Royal Institute of Art in Stockholm und den Stockholm City Culture Fund unterstützt. 2020 bis 2021 arbeiten Berkowicz und Carla Garlaschi (aka Princess Prada) an der Wiederholung des Events Quinceañera, das über regionale Pop-Choreographien und queere Liminalität als Formen der regimekritischer Versammlungen reflektiert.

Olivia Berkowicz ist Gründungsmitglied des interdisziplinären Kollektivs resina, das Auffassungen von Fürsorge, Ökofeminismus und informelle Lernumgebungen erkundet. Sie ist Mitbegründerin des internationalen Residenzprogramms Ferrara Residency/Italien, das seit 2017 Künstler*innen und Forscher*innen einlädt, Formen des Zusammenseins zu erkunden und über die Bedeutung prekärer und affektiver Arbeit unter kapitalistischen Bedingungen zu reflektieren.

In den letzten Jahren arbeitete Berkowicz als Kuratorin und Produzentin am Grafikens Hus, Södertälje/Schweden (2019–2020), am Sörmland Museum, Nyköping/Schweden (2018–2019), am The Living History Forum, Stockholm (2018) sowie am The Royal Institute of Art, Stockholm (2017).