Rósa Ómarsdóttir

Fellowship:

TANZPAKT Stuttgart

City, Country:

Brussels, Belgium

Year:

2021

Rósa Ómarsdóttir

Born in Reykjavík/Iceland in 1988.

Rósa Ómarsdóttir studied dance and choreography at the Iceland University of the Arts, Reykjavík/Iceland(2008–2010) and at the P.A.R.T.S. – Performing Arts Research and Training Studios, Brussels/Belgium (2010–2014). She collaborated with Inga Huld Hákonardóttir on the performances Wilhelm Scream(2014), The Valley(2015) and Da Da Dans (2016), a commission for the Iceland Dance Company. Her solo creations include Traces,which premiered at Beursschouwburg inBrussels (2017), and Spills, whichpremieredat the Reykjavík Dance Festival (2019).

Her work has been presented at MIRfestival Athens/Greece (2018), HOMO NOVUS in Riga/Latvia (2018), Julidans festival Amsterdam/The Netherlands (2017) and Future is Feminist in Brussels (2017). Her performances have received numerous nominations for the Icelandic Theatre Awards. The Valley received an award for best choreography and both Da Da Dansand Spillsreceived commendations for best soundscape.

Rósa Ómarsdóttir has been leading a research project called Secondhand Knowledgewith Ásrún Magnúsdóttir and Alexander Roberts, focusing on peripheral dance communities and their relationship to dance history and the notion of secondhand knowledge.

Rósa Ómarsdóttir

Rósa Ómarsdóttir

Stipendium:

TANZPAKT Stuttgart

Stadt, Land:

Brüssel, Belgien

Jahrgang:

2021

Aufenthalt(e):

Jan 2021 - März 2021

Okt 2021 - Dez 2021

Akademie Schloss Solitude - Rósa Ómarsdóttir

Geboren 1988 in Reykjavík/Island.

Rósa Ómarsdóttir studierte Tanz und Choreografie an der Kunstakademie Island (Listaháskóli Íslands), Reykjavík/Island (2008–2010), und der P.A.R.T.S. – Performing Arts Research and Training Studios, Brüssel/Belgien (2010–2014). Gemeinsam mit Inga Huld Hákonardóttir entwickelte sie die Performances Wilhelm Scream (2014) und The Valley (2015) sowie die Auftragsarbeit Da Da Dans (2016) für die Iceland Dance Company. Als Einzelautorin realisierte sie Traces, Uraufführung im Beursschouwburg, Brüssel (2017), und Spills, Uraufführung auf dem Reykjavík Dance Festival (2019).

Ihre Arbeiten waren auf dem MIRfestival Athen/Griechenland (2018), dem Festival HOMO NOVUS in Riga/Lettland (2018), dem Julidans-Festival Amsterdam/Niederlande (2017) und bei Future is Feminist in Brüssel (2017) zu sehen. Ihre Performances wurden mehrfach für die Icelandic Theatre Awards nominiert. The Valley wurde für die beste Choreografie ausgezeichnet, Da Da Dans und Spills in der Kategorie „Soundcape for Performance“.

Rósa Ómarsdóttir leitet zusammen mit Ásrún Magnúsdóttir und Alexander Roberts das Forschungsprojekt Secondhand Knowledge, das sich auf periphere Tanzgemeinschaften und ihre Beziehung zur Tanzgeschichte und zum Begriff des Secondhand-Wissens konzentriert.

Akademie Schloss Solitude - Rósa Ómarsdóttir