Isabel Mundry

Field of Practice:

Music / Sound

City, Country:

Freiburg i. Breisgau, Germany


2007, 2008, 2009

Born 1963 in Schlüchtern, Germany.

Mundry studied composition, music and art history, as well as philosophy in Berlin and Frankfurt (Main).

From 1992 to 1994 she lived in Paris, at first as a fellow at the Cité des Arts, afterwards she worked at the IRCAM during a one-year informatics and composition course. From 1994 to 1996 Isabel Mundry worked independently in Vienna.

After teaching positions at the Berliner Kirchenmusikschule and at the Hochschule der Künste in Berlin, she held a professorship for music theory and composition at the Musikhochschule in Frankfurt since 1996. In 1998 she taught at the “Darmstadt International Summer Courses for New Music“. Since 2003 Mundry is a professor for composition at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Zurich. In 2002/2003 she was fellow at the Wissenschaftskolleg Berlin.

Amongst others Isabel Mundry taught at the Darmstädter Ferienkurse (1989-2002) as well as at the Akiyoshidai-Festival (Japan 1997) and gave courses at the Conservatory Kopenhagen (2002) and Tibilissi (2007).

She received numerous prizes, e.g. the Boris-Blacher-Composition Prize, the Busoni-Composition Prize, the Kranichsteiner Musikpreis and the Siemens-Förderpreis. Her music theater “Ein Atemzug – die Odyssee” received the critic prize as world premiere of the year in 2006.

Isabel Mundry was composer in residence at the Tong Yong Festival (Corea, 2001), Lucern Festival (2003) and the Nationaltheater Mannheim (2004/2005). In the season 2007/2008 she is in the same position at the Staatskapelle Dresden.

Numerous commissions e.g. from the Tage für Neue Kammermusik Witten, the Donaueschinger Musiktage, the Mozarteum Salzburg, the Ensemble Intercontemporain, the Berliner Philharmoniker and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

Selected works: „Flugsand“ (orchestra, 1998); „Traces des Moments“ (clar, accordion, vl, vla, vc, 2000); „Wer?“ (voice, piano, 2005); „Ein Atemzug – die Odyssee“ (music theater, 2003/04); „falten und fallen“ (pianoforte, string quartet, 2006).

Her work is published by Breitkopf&Härtel.