Nkhensani Mkhari

Field of Practice:

Web Residencies

Fellowship:

Web Residencies

City, Country:

Johannesburg, South Africa

Year:

2020

Akademie Schloss Solitude - Nkhensani Mkhari

Born 1994.

Nkhensani Mkhari is a Johannesburg-based multidisciplinary artist and curator. Their broad praxis spans photography, painting, performance art, sound design, and new media. Their artworks function as multimodal material-semiotic metaphors.

Their keen interest in the intersections between art and technology led them to their first residency with Fak’ugesi digital innovation festival in 2018 curated by Dr. Tegan Bristow, with Brian House and Marc Lee as their mentors. The residency culminated in a multimedia installation exploring themes of their ongoing body of work titled image of transgressionexploring human spatial evolution into cyberspace and the cultural repercussions of that change. In 2019 their VR work titled Coronation of a Holographic Rainbowwas shortlisted for the ZKM and Solitude Web Residency call no. 6, curated by Mary Maggic. The project explored how indigenous ritual ceremonies may be archived using virtual and augmented reality.

In January 2020 they had their first pop-up exhibition Uhm Yeahin Paris/France with Le Ge’enied’ Alex. In September they opened their first exhibition in Johannesburg titled Porous Borders. Nkhensani is a recipient of the Fak’ugesi digital curation residency, the first of its kind in Africa. The exhibition has been on the Fak’ugesi platform since October 2020. They continue to expand in their praxis, synthesizing mediums to evoke new passages of materiality in expand public consciousness.

Akademie Schloss Solitude - Nkhensani Mkhari

Nkhensani Mkhari

Praxisfeld:

Web Residencies

Stipendium:

Web Residencies

Stadt, Land:

Johannesburg, Südafrika

Jahrgang:

2020

Aufenthalt(e):

Nov 2020 - Dez 2020

Akademie Schloss Solitude - Nkhensani Mkhari
Geboren 1994.
Nkhensani Mkhari ist ein in Johannesburg/Südafrika lebende*r multidisziplinäre*r Künstler*in und Kurator*in. Mkharis breite Praxis umfasst Fotografie, Malerei, Performance-Kunst, Sounddesign und neue Medien. Xies Kunstwerke funktionieren als multimodale, materiell-semiotische Metaphern.
Mkhairs lebhaftes Interesse an den Schnittpunkten zwischen Kunst und Technologie führte xier 2018 zur ersten Residency beim Fak’ugesi digital innovation festival, das von Dr. Tegan Bristow kuratiert wurde; mit Brian House und Marc Lee als Mentoren. Die Residency gipfelte in einer Multimedia-Installation mit dem Titel image of transgression, in der die räumliche Entwicklung des Menschen in den Cyberspace und die kulturellen Auswirkungen dieses Wandels untersucht wurden. Im Jahr 2019 wurde xies VR-Arbeit mit dem Titel Coronation of a Holographic Rainbowfür die Ausschreibung des ZKM and Solitude Web Residency call no. 6 nominiert, kuratiert von Mary Maggic. Das Projekt untersuchte, wie indigene rituelle Zeremonien mit Hilfe von virtueller und erweiterter Realität archiviert werden können.
Im Januar 2020 eröffnete Mkharis erste Pop-up-Ausstellung Uhm Yeah in Paris/Frankreich mit Le Ge’enied’ Alex. Mit dem Titel Porous Borders eröffnete im September 2020 xies erste Ausstellung in Johannesburg. Mit dieser Arbeit wurde xies der Preis der digitalen Kurator*innenresidenz Fak’ugesi verliehen, der ersten ihrer Art in Afrika. Die Ausstellung ist ab Oktober 2020 auf der Fak’ugesi-Plattform zu sehen. Mkharis erweitert weiterhin xies Praxis und synthetisiert Medien, um neue Passagen der Materialität zu evozieren und das öffentliche Bewusstsein zu erweitern.
Akademie Schloss Solitude - Nkhensani Mkhari