May 6, 2021

Solitude ON-line – Live Online Event

Desktop Exhibition Tour, Horizontal Reading & Discourse

Date: Thu, May 6, 2021 18:00 Uhr

Location: Online via Zoom

Design: Stegmeyer Fischer Creative Studio

With Solitude ON-line, Akademie Schloss Solitude invites you to explore the variety of its current digital formats. On May 6, 2021 from 6 to 9 pm, you can experience an online exhibition with applied artistic projects by Digital Solitude’s web residents as well as an online lecture with guest speaker Mandy Harris Williams. While the exhibition takes place in the context of Digital Solitude’s Web Residencies and will be presented within the Digital Solitude Online Space, the lecture of Mandy Harris Williams on the role of intellectuals in social media, is part of the Horizontal Reading Group – another digital format in the Ecosystems of Knowledge platform. Both parts of the live online event Solitude ON-line are instruments of the Akademie intended to promote international artistic work and the mutual, informal transfer of knowledge in times of the pandemic.

The event is free and open to the public. Registration is, however, requested. To register, please click here. The event will be recorded and made available online.

If you have any problems joining Zoom, please drop us an email at: host@akademie-solitude.de.

Program Solitude ON-line

6 pm

Online Opening of the Exhibition with selected works by our Web Residents

Welcome by Elke aus dem Moore and guided tour by Thomas Dumke

 

With contributions by Lark Alder a.k.a. Lark VCR, Nora Al-Badri, Johanna Bruckner, Shirin Fahimi, Hanna Husberg and Agata Marzecova, Marie-Eve Levasseur, Zahra Malkani, Nkhensani Mkhari, Jan Nikolai Nelles, Rasheedah Phillips, Miriam Simuns, Danae Tapia, and Natasha Tontey

6:30 pm

Break and open floor for questions and discussion

7 pm

Horizontal Reading Group with guest speaker Mandy Harris Williams:
»On Representing and/or Being the Intellectual: From Hashtag to Praxis«
Moderated by Gabriella Torres-Ferrer and Aouefa Amoussouvi

 

The Horizontal Reading Group is part of the Ecosystems of Knowledge platform, which was created in 2020 by Akademie Schloss Solitude as a new format for collective engagement. Initiated by current fellow Gabriella Torres-Ferrer as part of her residency at the Akademie, the Horizontal Reading Group meets online during these lockdown times to discuss a series of texts and ideas around a wide range of subjects that are of interest to its members. The goal is to create knowledge from different perspectives, along an underlying exploration of non-hierarchical ways of existence; a safe and inclusive space for everybody.

 

For this specific session, we have the great pleasure to present input by Mandy Harris Williams, who is a critical theorist, writer, multimedia conceptual artist, performer, Brown Up Your Feed Radio Hour host on NTS radio, educator, and internet/community academic. She will speak about the book Representations of the Intellectual by the Palestinian literary theorist Edward Said. She is especially curious about the role of the intellectual today, critical in that so many people are beginning to consider the materiality between hashtag and praxis. Or, more specifically, what is »doing the work« versus representation of »doing the work?« How does social media work to shift and change our behavior so that intellectualism is more or less desirable or important? She is looking forward to discussing this work in the context of the current technological era, among fellow intellectual-leaning individuals who are also considering participation within these platforms. What is the nature of the intellectual community on social media? And how does the nature of the platforms in and of themselves contribute to or detract from intellectualism?

Notes on video and photo recordings during the livestream

As part of the online event Solitude ON-line on May 6, 2021, image recordings will be made. Below we inform you about the nature and purposes of the image recordings, the legal basis and your rights.

Data protection officer:
RA Thomas Lang
Specialist attorney for labor law & certified data protection officer
Upper Kirchhaldenweg 9 b
70195 Stuttgart

Telephone: 0711 – 12 57 85 49
E-mail: office@datenschutzadvokat.de

The image recordings are used for the following purposes: Provision of the recordings for the participants in the livestream.

Legal basis of the recordings: Legitimate interests in the use of the recordings for the aforementioned purposes pursuant to Art. 6 para. 1 p. 1 lit. f., 85 DSGVO in conjunction with §§ 22, 23 KUG.

Retention period of the image recordings: The image recordings will be retained for as long as is necessary for the aforementioned purposes. The image recordings can be stored internally for an unlimited period, e.g. to secure copyright legal claims by providing evidence of original recordings and furthermore for reasons of contemporary historical documentation. In the case of publication, the recordings may be published as long as the respective publication media, articles or contributions are publicly accessible.

Your rights: you can exercise your right of access or rectification, deletion and restriction of the processing of the photographs and you can complain to the competent supervisory authority. You can object to the processing of photographs and data concerning you at any time. A detailed description of your rights can be found in our privacy policy at www.akademie-solitude.de/de/privacy-policy/.

Mai 6, 2021

Solitude ON-line – Live Online Veranstaltung

Desktop Ausstellungsführung, Horizontal Reading & Diskurs

Datum: Do, Mai 6, 2021 18:00 Uhr

Ort: Online via Zoom

Design: Stegmeyer Fischer Creative Studio

Mit der Veranstaltung Solitude ON-line lädt die Akademie Schloss Solitude zu einem Abend ein, der die Vielfalt ihrer aktuellen digitalen Formate vorstellt und zugänglich macht. Am 6. Mai 2021 von 18 bis 20 Uhr gibt es die Möglichkeit, eine Online-Ausstellung mit angewandten künstlerischen Arbeiten der aktuellen Web Residents zu erleben, sowie einen Online-Vortrag der Gastrednerin Mandy Harris Williams zur Rolle der Intellektuellen in den sozialen Medien. Die Online-Ausstellung findet statt im Rahmen von Digital Solitude’s Web Residencies und wird im Digital Solitude Online Space präsentiert. Der Vortrag von Mandy Harris Williams ist Teil der Horizontal Reading Group, eines von unserer aktuellen Stipendiatin Gabriella Torres-Ferrer gegründeten digitalen Formats der Ecosystems of Knowledge-Plattform. Beides sind Instrumente der Akademie zur Förderung der internationalen künstlerischen Arbeit und des gegenseitigen non-formalen Wissenstransfers in Zeiten der Pandemie.

Die Veranstaltung ist kostenlos und offen für alle Interessent*innen. Eine Anmeldung ist jedoch erforderlich. Um sich zu registrieren, klicken Sie bitte hier. Die Veranstaltung wird zudem aufgezeichnet und online zur Verfügung gestellt.

Sollten Sie technische Probleme mit Zoom haben, schreiben Sie uns bitte eine E-Mail an: host@akademie-solitude.de.

Programm Solitude ON-line

18 Uhr

Online-Eröffnung der Ausstellung mit ausgewählten Werken der Web Residents

Begrüßung durch Elke aus dem Moore & Ausstellungsführung mit Thomas Dumke

 

Mit Beiträgen von Lark Alder aka Lark VCR, Nora Al-Badri, Johanna Bruckner, Shirin Fahimi, Marie-Eve Levasseur, Zahra Malkani, Nkhensani Mkhari, Jan Nikolai Nelles, Rasheedah Phillips, Miriam Simuns, Danae Tapia, Natasha Tontey

18.30 Uhr

Pause & Open Floor für Fragen und Anmerkungen

19 Uhr

Horizontal Reading Group mit Gastrednerin Mandy Harris Williams:
»On Representing and/or Being the Intellectual: From Hashtag to Praxis«
Moderiert von Gabriella Torres-Ferrer und Aouefa Amoussouvi

Die Horizontal Reading Group ist Teil der Plattform Ecosystems of Knowledge, die 2020 von der Akademie Schloss Solitude als neues Format für kollektives Arbeiten ins Leben gerufen wurde. Initiiert von der derzeitigen Stipendiat*in Gabriella Torres-Ferrer im Rahmen ihrer Residenz an der Akademie, lädt die Horizontal Reading Group dazu ein, sich während des Lockdowns online zu treffen, um eine Reihe von Texten und Ideen rund um eine breite Palette von Themen zu diskutieren, die für die Mitglieder von Interesse sind. Ziel ist es, Wissen aus verschiedenen Perspektiven entlang einer zugrundeliegenden Erkundung von nicht-hierarchischen Wegen der Existenz innerhalb eines sicheren und inklusiven Raumes für alle zu erschaffen.

 

Für diese spezielle Sitzung haben wir das große Vergnügen, einen Beitrag von Mandy Harris Williams zu präsentieren. Williams ist kritische Theoretikerin, Autorin, Multimedia-Konzeptkünstlerin, Performerin, Brown Up Your Feed Radio Hour Host auf NTS Radio, Pädagogin und Internet/Community-Akademikerin. In ihrem Input wird sie über das Buch Representations of the Intellectual des palästinensischen Literaturtheoretikers Edward Said sprechen. Sie ist besonders neugierig auf die Rolle der Intellektuellen in der heutigen Zeit, die insofern kritisch ist, als dass so viele Menschen beginnen, darüber nachzudenken, was die Materialität ist zwischen Hashtag und Praxis. Oder, genauer gesagt, was bedeutet es »Arbeit zu tun« vs. der Darstellung von »Arbeit zu tun«? Wie wirken soziale Medien, um unser Verhalten so zu verschieben und zu verändern, dass Intellektualität mehr oder weniger wünschenswert oder wichtig ist? Williams freut sich darauf, diese Arbeit im Kontext des heutigen technologischen Zeitalters mit anderen intellektuell orientierten Menschen zu diskutieren, die ebenfalls die Teilnahme an diesen Plattformen in Betracht ziehen. Was ist die Natur der intellektuellen Gemeinschaft auf Social-Media-Plattformen? Und wie trägt die Beschaffenheit der Plattformen an und für sich zum Intellektualismus bei oder beeinträchtigt diesen?

 

Hinweise zu Video- und Audioaufnahmen während der Veranstaltung

Im Rahmen der Online-Veranstaltung Solitude ON-line am 6. Mai 2021 werden Bildaufzeichnungen gemacht. Im Folgenden informieren wir Sie über Art und Zweck der Bildaufzeichnungen, die Rechtsgrundlage und Ihre Rechte.

Datenschutzbeauftragter:

RA Thomas Lang
Fachanwalt für Arbeitsrecht & zertifizierter Datenschutzbeauftragter
Oberer Kirchhaldenweg 9 b
70195 Stuttgart

Telefon: 0711 – 12 57 85 49
E-Mail: office@datenschutzadvokat.de

Die Bildaufzeichnungen werden für  folgende Zwecke verwendet: Bereitstellung der Aufnahmen für die Teilnehmer*innen des Livestreams.

Rechtsgrundlage der Aufnahmen: Berechtigte Interessen an der Verwendung der Aufnahmen zu den vorgenannten Zwecken gemäß Art. 6 Abs. 1 S. 1 lit. f., 85 DSGVO in Verbindung mit §§ 22, 23 KUG.

Aufbewahrungsdauer der Bildaufzeichnungen: Die Bildaufzeichnungen werden so lange aufbewahrt, wie es für die vorgenannten Zwecke erforderlich ist. Die Bildaufnahmen können intern unbefristet aufbewahrt werden, z. B. zur Sicherung urheberrechtlicher Rechtsansprüche durch Nachweis von Originalaufnahmen und darüber hinaus aus Gründen der zeitgeschichtlichen Dokumentation. Im Falle einer Veröffentlichung dürfen die Aufnahmen publiziert werden, solange die jeweiligen Publikationsmedien, Artikel oder Beiträge öffentlich zugänglich sind.

Ihre Rechte: Sie können Ihr Recht auf Auskunft oder Berichtigung, Löschung und Einschränkung der Verarbeitung der Fotos ausüben und sich bei der zuständigen Aufsichtsbehörde beschweren. Sie können der Verarbeitung der Sie betreffenden Fotos und Daten jederzeit widersprechen. Eine ausführliche Beschreibung Ihrer Rechte finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzrichtlinie unter www.akademie-solitude.de/de/privacy-policy/.