Angela Anderson

Field of Practice:

Thematic Focus

Fellowship:

Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

Berlin, Deutschland

Year:

2020, 2021

Angela Anderson is an artist and researcher working at the intersection of philosophy, ecology, economics, migration, feminist and queer theory. Much of her work centers around the devastating effects of large-scale natural resource extraction projects and the complex economic, social, historical, aesthetic and affectual forces that converge in them. Her artistic production takes the form of multi-channel video and sound installations, sculptural elements and photography.

Through experimentation with audio-visual forms, Anderson creates cartographies of multiple temporalities that resist the flattening time of capitalism. Her work activates different ways of seeing and perceiving affective relations of recognition and reciprocity in the face of the multiple human-induced crises that are currently unfolding across the globe.

Her recent works include the audio-visual research projects Three (or More) Ecologies: A Feminist Articulation of Eco-intersectionality (2018–ongoing). She collaborated with Angela Melitopoulos on Unearthing Disaster (2013–2015), the video installation The Refrain (2015), and The Sea Between You and Me (2016). She also collaborated with Melitopoulos on Crossings (2017) for the documenta 14.

Recently her work has been displayed at the Tallin Photomonth Biennial, Tallin/Estonia (2019), the Tiroler Kunstpavillon, Innsbruck/Austria (2019), the Centro Andaluz de Arte Contemporáneo, Seville/Spain (2018), Holbaek Images, Holbaek/Denmark (2016), Framer Framed Amsterdam/The Netherlands (2016) and the Thessaloniki Biennale, Thessaloniki/Greece (2015). In 2018–2019, she was an Art and Theory Fellow at the Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen, Innsbruck/Austria.

She is a teaching assistant in fine arts at the Kunsthochschule Kassel/Germany and the exhibition designer for Forum Expanded at the Berlin International Film Festival. She holds a BA in Economics and Latin American Studies from the University of Minnesota and an MA in film and media studies from The New School, New York/USA, and is pursuing her PhD at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna/Austria.

Angela Anderson

Praxisfeld:

Thematischer Fokus

Stipendium:

Solitude-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

Berlin, Deutschland

Jahrgang:

2020, 2021

Aufenthalt(e):

Okt 2020 - Juni 2021

Angela Anderson ist Künstlerin und Wissenschaftlerin. Sie arbeitet an den Schnittstellen von Philosophie, Ökologie, Ökonomie, Migration, Feminismus und Queer-Theorie. Im Fokus ihrer Arbeit liegen insbesondere die verheerenden Auswirkungen von Großprojekten zur Gewinnung natürlicher Ressourcen und die komplexen wirtschaftlichen, sozialen, historischen, ästhetischen und affektiven Kräfte, die in ihnen zusammenwirken. Ihre künstlerische Produktion erfolgt in Form von Mehrkanal-Video- und Toninstallationen, skulpturalen Elementen und Fotografie.

 

Durch das Experimentieren mit audiovisuellen Formen schafft Anderson Kartografien von multiplen Zeitlichkeiten, die sich der verflachenden Zeit des Kapitalismus widersetzen. Ihre Arbeit aktiviert verschiedene Arten des Sehens und Wahrnehmens von affektiven Beziehungen der Anerkennung und Gegenseitigkeit angesichts der multiplen, vom Menschen verursachten Krisen, die sich gegenwärtig auf der ganzen Welt abspielen.

Zu ihren aktuellen Projekten zählt die audiovisuelle Arbeit Three (or More) Ecologies: A Feminist Articulation of Eco-Intersectionality (seit 2018). Mit Angela Melitopoulos realisierte sie Unearthing Disaster (2013–2015), die Videoinstallation The Refrain (2015) und den Kurzfilm The Sea Between You and Me (2016). Für die documenta 14 arbeitete als Co-Autorin zusammen mit Melitopoulos an Crossings (2017).

Jüngste Ausstellungen: Tallinn Photomonth Biennale/Estland (2019), Tiroler Kunstpavillon, Innsbruck/Österreich (2019), Centro Andaluz de Arte Contemporáneo, Sevilla/Spanien (2018), Holbaek Images/Dänemark (2016), Famer Framed, Amsterdam/Niederlande (2016), Thessaloniki Biennale/Griechenland (2015).

2018/2019 war sie Stipendiatin am Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen in Innsbruck/Österreich (Fellowship-Programm für Kunst- und Theorie).

Sie ist Lehrbeauftragte für bildende Kunst an der Kunsthochschule Kassel/Deutschland und Ausstellungsgestalterin für das Forum Expanded der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin/Deutschland. Sie absolvierte ihren BA in Wirtschaft und Lateinamerikanischen Studien an der University of Minnesota/USA und ihren MA in Film- und Medienwissenschaften an der New School, New York/USA. Derzeit promoviert sie an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien/Österreich.