Clara Jo

Field of Practice:

Thematic Focus

Fellowship:

Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

Berlin, Germany

Year:

2020, 2021

Born in the USA in 1986.

Clara Jo is an artist based in Berlin/Germany. She received a BA in photography from Bard College, New York/USA in 2008, and completed her studies as a master pupil in fine arts (Meisterschülerin in Freie Kunst) from the Institute for Spatial Experiments/Berlin University of the Arts in 2013.

Her work has been exhibited and screened at the Royal Academy of Arts, London/UK, the Institute of Contemporary Arts, London, the Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art, Berlin, the Berlin State Museums (Hamburger Bahnhof museum, New National Gallery, Dahlem museums, Museum of Photography), at Savvy Contemporary, Berlin, the Academy of Arts, Berlin and the Alliance Ethio-Française d’Addis-Abeba, Ethiopia.

In 2020, she received the King’s Artists Residency at King’s College London. In 2019, she was awarded a studio residency at the Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris/France, supported by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe. In 2018, she received the Smithsonian Artist Research Fellowship and was the international artist-in-residence at the YARAT Contemporary Art Space, Baku/Azerbaijan.

Clara Jo

Praxisfeld:

Thematischer Fokus

Stipendium:

Solitude-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

Berlin, Deutschland

Jahrgang:

2020, 2021

Aufenthalt(e):

Okt 2020 - Juni 2021

Geboren 1986 in den USA.

Clara Jo lebt und arbeitet als Künstlerin in Berlin/Deutschland. Sie studierte Fotografie (BA, 2008)  am Bard College, New York/USA, und war Meisterschülerin im Bereich Freie Kunst (2013) am Institut für Raumexperimente der Universität der Künste Berlin.

Ihre Arbeiten waren unter anderem in der Royal Academy of Arts, London/Großbritannien, im Institute of Contemporary Arts, London, in der Alliance Ethio-Française d’Addis-Abeba/Äthiopien sowie in Berlin im Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst, im Hamburger Bahnhof, in der Neuen Nationalgalerie, im Museum für Fotografie, bei Savvy Contemporary und in der Akademie der Künste zu sehen.

Sie war Stipendiatin der King’s Artists Residency des King’s College London (2020) und der Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris/Frankreich (2019), gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa in Berlin. 2018 erhielt sie ein Smithsonian Artist Research Fellowship und war Artist-in-Residence am YARAT Contemporary Art Space, Baku/Aserbaidschan.