Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices – A Shared Vocabulary

22 contributions by authors from the international network of Akademie Schloss Solitude

Design: beton.studio, Vienna

The publication  Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices is published on the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the international and transdisciplinary artist residency Akademie Schloss Solitude. The publication brings together 22 contributions by authors from the international network of Akademie Schloss Solitude.

Untranslatable proposes a new vocabulary of terms that remain untranslated in their original language. These are words that convey cultural practices, attitudes and value systems and are explained from their respective language and word canon. Terms are presented that broaden perspectives, facilitate new perspectives, and thus enrich collective thinking as a global community. The Shared Vocabulary presents an expanded cultural and etymological understanding of the world and our cultural actions. This publication makes global knowledge systems visible and promotes the accessibility of valuable everyday practices.

For this purpose, this anthology brings together texts by former fellows of the Akademie, authors, thinkers, scientists, journalists, poets, and visual artists who are connected to cultural practices in different ways. Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices addresses pressing questions with which both artists and scientists alike are confronted: Which value systems are necessary to sustain our living conditions on this planet? What sort of collective wisdom and cultural practices can we learn from as a society? And how can we translate this knowledge into sustainable and peaceful action for a global community?

 

With the kind support by Wüstenrot Stiftung

Design: beton.studio, Vienna

ISBN-No.:

978-3-948212-55-1

Brief description:

Softcover, English

Page number:

204

Author/s:

Faduma Abukar, Patrizia Bach, Regina Dürig, Mica Cabildo, Vinicius Jatobá, Simar Preet Kaur, Giuliana Kiersz, Dong Li, Edith Lázár, Alexander Manuiloff, Viktoria Morasch, Abukar Mursal, Haneen Naamneh, Enos Nyamor, Prasanna Oommen, Raqs Media Collective, Vipul Rikhi, Laura Romano, Cássio Diniz Santiago, Nishant Shah, Alkistis Thomidou, Natasha Tontey, Jérôme Toussaint, Wojtek Ziemilski

Method of Payment :

On Bill

Editor:

Elke aus dem Moore for Akademie Schloss Solitude

Introduction:

Kübra Gümüşay

Editors-of-chief:

Denise Helene Sumi and Lara Treffeisen

Associate Editor:

Sebastian Schneider

Translater:

Harriet Rössger

Editing:

Kimberly Bradley and Chloe Stead

Design: :

beton.studio, Vienna

Published by :

Edition Solitude and Archive Books

Price:

15 Euro

Publication date:

2021

Order form

Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices – A Shared Vocabulary

22 Beiträge von Autor*innen aus dem internationalen Netzwerk der Akademie Schloss Solitude

Design: beton.studio, Vienna

Design: beton.studio, Vienna

Die Publikation Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices erscheint anlässlich des 30-jährigen Jubiläums der internationalen und transdisziplinären Künstler*innenresidenz Akademie Schloss Solitude. Die Publikation vereint 22 Beiträge von Autor*innen aus dem internationalen Netzwerk der Akademie Schloss Solitude.

Untranslatable schlägt ein neues Vokabular von Begriffen vor, die in ihrer Sprache bestehen bleiben und nicht übersetzt werden. Es handelt sich um Wörter, die kulturelle Praktiken, Haltungen und Wertesysteme vermitteln und aus ihrem jeweiligen Sprach- und Wortkanon erklärt werden. Begriffe werden vorgestellt, die Perspektiven erweitern, neue Sichtweisen zulassen und damit das kollektive Denken als Weltgemeinschaft bereichern. Das Shared Vocabulary präsentiert ein erweitertes kulturelles und etymologisches Verständnis von Welt und unseren kulturellen Handlungen. Diese Publikation macht globale Wissenssysteme sichtbar und fördert die Zugänglichkeit wertvoller Alltagspraktiken fördern.

Zur Anthologie tragen ehemalige Stipendiat*innen der Akademie, Autor*innen, Denker*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen, Journalist*innen, Dichter*innen und bildende Künstler*innen bei, die auf unterschiedliche Weise mit kulturellen Praktiken verbunden sind. Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices greift drängende Fragestellungen auf, die von Künstler*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen gleichermaßen verhandelt werden: Welche Wertesysteme sind notwendig, um unsere Lebensbedingungen auf diesem Planeten zu erhalten? Von welchen kollektiven Weisheiten und kulturellen Praktiken können wir als Gesellschaft lernen? Und wie können wir dieses Wissen in für eine Weltgemeinschaft nachhaltiges und friedvolles Handeln umsetzen?

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Wüstenrot Stiftung

Design: beton.studio, Vienna

Design: beton.studio, Vienna

ISBN-Nr:

978-3-948212-55-1

Kurzbeschreibung:

Softcover, Englisch

Seitenzahl:

204

Autor*innen:

Faduma Abukar, Patrizia Bach, Regina Dürig, Mica Cabildo, Vinicius Jatobá, Simar Preet Kaur, Giuliana Kiersz, Dong Li, Edith Lázár, Alexander Manuiloff, Viktoria Morasch, Abukar Mursal, Haneen Naamneh, Enos Nyamor, Prasanna Oommen, Raqs Media Collective, Vipul Rikhi, Laura Romano, Cássio Diniz Santiago, Nishant Shah, Alkistis Thomidou, Natasha Tontey, Jérôme Toussaint, Wojtek Ziemilski

Zahlungsart :

auf Rechnung

Herausgeberin:

Elke aus dem Moore für die Akademie Schloss Solitude

Einleitung:

Kübra Gümüşay

Leitende Redakteurinnen:

Denise Helene Sumi und Lara Treffeisen

Assoziierter Redakteur:

Sebastian Schneider

Übersetzung:

Harriet Rössger

Lektorat:

Kimberly Bradley and Chloe Stead

Design:

beton.studio, Wien

Herausgegeben von:

Edition Solitude und Archive Books

Preis:

15 Euro

Erscheinungsdatum:

2021

Bestellformular