Christ Mukenge

Field of Practice:

Visual

Fellowship:

Solitude fellowship

City, Country:

Year:

2020, 2021

Born in Kinshasa/Democratic Republic of the Congo in 1988.

2010–2013: Completed studies at the Académie des Beaux-Arts de Kinshasa

The German-Congolese duo Mukenge/Schellhammer has been acting as guinea pigs for post-post-colonial theory and practice in the laboratory of contemporary Kinshasa since 2016. The artists expose themselves to confrontational situations within rapidly changing social systems in Europe and the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and respond to their experiences and investigations in an ongoing artistic process that includes painting, performance, scenography and street art.

In their work, which is located at the intersection of different cultural, social and economic spaces, personal perceptions and individual comfort zones are constantly challenged and destroyed. Everyday experiences leading to a fragmented, multi-layered perspective in which the shreds and fragments of cultural and personal collisions reflect and question one another form the gateway to a conceptual approach which allows opposites to stand unchallenged instead of being dissolved.

An entanglement of expressive techniques, academic painting and the everyday mainstream, the visual results establish a connection between elitist art appreciation and mass culture. The duo has exhibited works at the Grand Hotel Cosmopolis, Augsburg/Germany (2016), the Swiss Embassy in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Kinshasa (2018), the Augsburg Brecht Festival (2018) and the Institut Français Kinshasa (2019), among others. Mukenge/Schellhammer have collaborated with Gintersdorfer/Klaßen and Gintersdorfer/Yao on projects at HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin/Germany, in the context of the exhibition Skulptur Projekte Münster/Germany, at MC93, Paris/France, and at Theater Kampnagel, Hamburg/Germany.

Christ Mukenge

Praxisfeld:

Visuell

Stipendium:

Solitude-Stipendium

Stadt, Land:

Jahrgang:

2020, 2021

Aufenthalt(e):

Okt 2020 - März 2021

Geboren 1988 in Kinshasa/Demokratische Republik Kongo.

2010–2013 Studium an der Académie des Beaux-Arts de Kinshasa.

Das deutsch-kongolesische Duo Mukenge/Schellhammer ist seit 2016 Versuchskaninchen für –post-postkoloniale Theorie und Praxis im Labor des zeitgenössischen Kinshasa. Die Künstler*innen setzen sich Konfrontationssituationen in sich verändernden sozialen Systemen in Europa und der Demokratischen Republik Kongo aus und reagieren auf ihre Erfahrungen und Untersuchungen in einem fortlaufenden künstlerischen Prozess, der Malerei, Performance, Szenografie und Street Art, umfasst.

In ihrer Arbeit, die sich zwischen verschiedenen kulturellen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Räumen verortet, werden persönliche Wahrnehmungen und individuelle Komfortzonen ständig neu herausgefordert und zerstört. Alltägliche Erfahrungen, die zu einer fragmentierten, vielschichtigen Perspektive führen, in der sich die Fetzen und Bruchstücke kultureller und persönlicher Kollisionen gegenseitig spiegeln und infrage stellen, bilden den Ausgangspunkt für einen konzeptuellen Ansatz, der Gegensätze als solche stehen lässt, anstatt sie aufzulösen.

Als eine Verschränkung aus expressiven Techniken, akademischer Malerei und alltäglichem Mainstream stellt das visuelle Ergebnis eine Verbindung zwischen elitärem Kunstverständnis und Massenkultur her. Unter anderem zeigte das Duo Arbeiten im Grandhotel Cosmopolis, Augsburg/Deutschland (2016), in der Schweizerischen Botschaft in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, Kinshasa (2018), auf dem Augsburger Brechtfestival (2018) und im Institut Français Kinshasa (2019). In Zusammenarbeit mit Gintersdorfer/Klaßen und Gintersdorfer/Yao waren Mukenge/Schellhammer beteiligt an Projekten im HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin/Deutschland, im Rahmen der Skulptur Projekte Münster/Deutschland, im MC93, Paris/Frankreich, und im Theater Kampnagel, Hamburg/Deutschland.