Mar 11, 2021

Online Book Launch: »Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices – A Shared Vocabulary«

Date: Thu, Mar 11, 2021 14:00 Uhr

Location: Online

Info:

To participate in the event via Zoom and join the discussion, advance reservation is required. Please register at: register@akademie-solitude.de

There is a limited number of participants.

Alternatively, you can follow the event live without registration on Vimeo: https://vimeo.com/event/731489

If you have any problems joining Zoom or Vimeo, please drop us an email at host@akademie-solitude.de

Design: Beton, Wien

The publication  Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices is published on the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the international and transdisciplinary artist residency Akademie Schloss Solitude. The publication brings together 22 contributions by authors from the international network of Akademie Schloss Solitude.

Untranslatable proposes a new vocabulary of terms that remain untranslated in their original language. These are words that convey cultural practices, attitudes and value systems and are explained from their respective language and word canon. Terms are presented that broaden perspectives, facilitate new perspectives, and thus enrich collective thinking as a global community. The Shared Vocabulary presents an expanded cultural and etymological understanding of the world and our cultural actions. This publication makes global knowledge systems visible and promotes the accessibility of valuable everyday practices.

For this purpose, this anthology brings together texts by former fellows of the Akademie, authors, thinkers, scientists, journalists, poets, and visual artists who are connected to cultural practices in different ways. Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices addresses pressing questions with which both artists and scientists alike are confronted: Which value systems are necessary to sustain our living conditions on this planet? What sort of collective wisdom and cultural practices can we learn from as a society? And how can we translate this knowledge into sustainable and peaceful action for a global community?

With contributions by: Faduma Abukar, Patrizia Bach & Regina Dürig, Mica Cabildo, Kübra Gümüşay, Vinicius Jatobá, Simar Preet Kaur, Giuliana Kiersz, Dong Li, Edith Lázár, Alexander Manuiloff, Viktoria Morasch, Abukar Mursal, Haneen Naamneh, Enos Nyamor, Prasanna Oommen, Raqs Media Collective, Vipul Rikhi, Laura Romano, Cássio Diniz Santiago, Nishant Shah, Alkistis Thomidou, Natasha Tontey, Jérôme Toussaint, Wojtek Ziemilski

Elke aus dem Moore (Akademie Schloss Solitude) and Chiara Figone (Archive Books) will welcome you to the book launch and the authors Vinicius Jatobá, Giuliana Kiersz, Viktoria Morasch, Haneen Naamneh, Vipul Rikhi, Natasha Tontey and Wojtek Ziemilski will read from their texts.

The book is published by Archive Books in cooperation with Edition Solitude and with the kind support of Wüstenrot Stiftung

Further information about the book.

Vimeo

By loading the video, you accept Vimeo's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

März 11, 2021

Online Book Launch: »Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices – A Shared Vocabulary«

Datum: Do, Mrz 11, 2021 14:00 Uhr

Ort: Online

Info:

Um an der Veranstaltung via Zoom teilzunehmen und mitzudiskutieren, ist eine Voranmeldung erforderlich. Bitte registrieren Sie sich unter: register@akademie-solitude.de. Die Anzahl der Teilnehmer*innen ist begrenzt.

Alternativ können Sie die Veranstaltung auch ohne Anmeldung live auf Vimeo verfolgen: https://vimeo.com/event/731489

Design: Beton, Wien

Die Publikation Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices erscheint anlässlich des 30-jährigen Jubiläums der internationalen und transdisziplinären Künstler*innenresidenz Akademie Schloss Solitude. Die Publikation vereint 22 Beiträge von Autor*innen aus dem internationalen Netzwerk der Akademie Schloss Solitude.

Untranslatable schlägt ein neues Vokabular von Begriffen vor, die in ihrer Sprache bestehen bleiben und nicht übersetzt werden. Es handelt sich um Wörter, die kulturelle Praktiken, Haltungen und Wertesysteme vermitteln und aus ihrem jeweiligen Sprach- und Wortkanon erklärt werden. Begriffe werden vorgestellt, die Perspektiven erweitern, neue Sichtweisen zulassen und damit das kollektive Denken als Weltgemeinschaft bereichern. Das Shared Vocabulary präsentiert ein erweitertes kulturelles und etymologisches Verständnis von Welt und unseren kulturellen Handlungen. Diese Publikation macht globale Wissenssysteme sichtbar und fördert die Zugänglichkeit wertvoller Alltagspraktiken.

Zur Anthologie tragen ehemalige Stipendiat*innen der Akademie, Autor*innen, Denker*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen, Journalist*innen, Dichter*innen und bildende Künstler*innen bei, die auf unterschiedliche Weise mit kulturellen Praktiken verbunden sind. Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices greift drängende Fragestellungen auf, die von Künstler*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen gleichermaßen verhandelt werden: Welche Wertesysteme sind notwendig, um unsere Lebensbedingungen auf diesem Planeten zu erhalten? Von welchen kollektiven Weisheiten und kulturellen Praktiken können wir als Gesellschaft lernen? Und wie können wir dieses Wissen in für eine Weltgemeinschaft nachhaltiges und friedvolles Handeln umsetzen?

Mit Beiträgen von: Faduma Abukar, Patrizia Bach & Regina Dürig, Mica Cabildo, Kübra Gümüşay, Vinicius Jatobá, Simar Preet Kaur, Giuliana Kiersz, Dong Li, Edith Lázár, Alexander Manuiloff, Viktoria Morasch, Abukar Mursal, Haneen Naamneh, Enos Nyamor, Prasanna Oommen, Raqs Media Collective, Vipul Rikhi, Laura Romano, Cássio Diniz Santiago, Nishant Shah, Alkistis Thomidou, Natasha Tontey, Jérôme Toussaint, Wojtek Ziemilski

Zum Book Launch begrüßen Sie Elke aus dem Moore (Akademie Schloss Solitude), Chiara Figone (Archive Books) und Philipp Kurz (Wüstenrot Stiftung).

Aus ihren Texten lesen die Autor*innen Vinicius Jatobá, Giuliana Kiersz, Viktoria Morasch, Haneen Naamneh, Vipul Rikhi, Natasha Tontey und Wojtek Ziemilski.

Die Lesungen und Diskussionen finden in englischer Sprache statt.

Das Buch erscheint bei Archive Books in Kooperation mit der Edition Solitude mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Wüstenrot Stiftung

Weitere Informationen zum Buch

 

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden