July 17, 2010

Concert: Der Tristan-Akkord (The Tristan Chord)

Date: July 17, 2010, 20:00 Uhr

Duration: July 17, 2010

Location: Theaterhaus Stuttgart

As part of The Summer in Stuttgart ‘10
July 16 to 17, 2010, Theaterhaus Stuttgart
A cooperation between Akademie Schloss Solitude and Musik der Jahrhunderte

During the year 2010 the Akademie Schloss Solitude is celebrating their 20-year anniversary with a series of special projects and events. Music-related events will be presented as part of the festival The Summer in Stuttgart ‘10, which is jointly organized by the Staatsoper Stuttgart, Musik der Jahrhunderte, Südwestrundfunk (SWR), and the Akademie Schloss Solitude and will take place from July 16 to 17, 2010.

For the Akademie’s anniversary evening on July 17, 2010 at the Theaterhaus Stuttgart, concerts with brief works by an extensive circle of former fellows are planned. Serving as a common thread among the individual compositional contributions is the Tristan chord.

Each of the invited composers has selected a concert and written a piece of 120 seconds in length for the selected constellation of musicians. The governing rule for the compositional process is that each piece must begin and end with the Tristan chord (F, B, D sharp, G sharp) so as to make the transition between the individual compositions audible for the audience.
Over 50 composers/former fellows from the music/sound section have accepted the invitation, and the scores have already been delivered.

Involved composers: Noriko Baba, Stefan Bartling, Gavin Bryars, Vincent Raphael Carinola, Alvaro Carlevaro, Frank Cox, Willy Daum, Mariano Etkin, Francesco Filidei, Alexandra Filonenko, Jason Freeman, Gunnar Geisse, Andrew Hamilton, Hans-Joachim Hespos, Daniel Hjorth, Ricardas Kabelis, Malika Kishino, Babette Koblenz, Mauro Lanza, Jörg Mainka, Tiziano Manca, Krisztina Megyeri, Elena Mendoza Lopez, Hector Moro, Helmut Oehring, Erik Ona, Oleg Paiberdin, Enno Poppe, Michael Reudenbach, Rolf Riehm, Lucia Ronchetti, Marc Sabat, Anton Safronov, Benedikt Schiefer, Dodo Schielein, Annette Schlünz, Charlotte Seither, Oscar Strasnoy, Steven Takasugi, Avi Tchamni, Manos Tsangaris, Cobi van Tonder, Ian Willcock, Alexander Sigman und Vladimir Tarasov.

The pieces will be performed by the ensemble ascolta, the Neue Vocalsolisten (New Vocal soloists) as well as Sven Thomas Kiebler and Elmar Schrammel.

With the financial support of the Baden-Württemberg foundation.